We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Elegant”
Review of The French Room - CLOSED

The French Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $95
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Akard
Transit: DART and DART Light Rail (Akard Street Station)
Description: Editors at Bon Appetit, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler , and Fodor's have consistently included The French Room on their annual lists of superlative restaurants. The Zagat Survey of America's Top Restaurants ranks the dining room No. 1 for food, decor, and service, and it's only one of nine restaurants in the United States to have achieved a near-perfect food score. Texas Monthly and D Magazine list The French Room among the best restaurants in Dallas. It is now the only dining room in Texas to hold the AAA Five Diamond Award.
Tulsa, OK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Always Elegant”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The French Room is the place for special occasions. They always make you feel special. The room is filled with old world charm and the service is the same. This is a place where you dress up and "dine," a word loosely used for other restaurants. The food is delicious and well-prepared. It's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alice2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that The French Room is one of your favorite restaurants.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your recommendation is much appreciated.

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    66
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“One of the best in the world!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have traveled extensively, both domestically and internationally, and have been at some of the best restaurants throughout the world. The French Room at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas, Texas is on par with all of them. The food is exceptional, but the service is what really puts the French Room in a class by itself. Truly a spectacular experience from start to finish!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear George,

It is a great pleasure to learn that The French Room ranks with the finest restaurants in the world.

Thank you for sharing your travel experience. Our staff appreciates your kind compliments and high praise.

We hope you will return often.

Cordially,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A truly special dining experience.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 4, and from the moment we entered the restaurant, we knew that we would receive white glove treatment. Our table was beautiful, the view from each seat was exquisite. Our server was Carlos and I highly recommend requesting him when you make your reservations. He is absolutely wonderful (and entertaining). We enjoyed two wonderful bottles of wine, and I had the crab cakes, halibut and chocolate soufflé. My only tiny tiny negative was that as a New Englander, I've been spoiled by New England crab cakes. The crab cakes at the French Room are good, just not the same. The presentations, ambiance, service and overall experience was one we'll never forget. It's the perfect restaurant for any special occasions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyD01776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent French Room experience with other TripAdvisor travelers. We are delighted that we impressed you.

Carlos is most appreciative of your kind words and recommendation.

We hope you will return on your next visit to Dallas.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our lives.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Everything is perfect at The French Room. We've eaten there several times. You will never forget eating at The French Room. You simply can't go wrong. It's number one for a reason. If you don't know what good food and service is, or how to enjoy yourself, don't go...you won't understand. Whenever we're in Dallas (used to live there), we always make time for dinner at The French Room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EasyGoingTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your insight with fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

We appreciate your recommending The French Room.

All the best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent early anniversary dinner”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I ate here while attending a conference in Dallas. Everything was excellent, as we expected from reading other reviews. Beautiful ambiance, great food, service was very friendly and attentive but not overbearing. We have moderate experience with dining at this level, but any time we appeared to lack confidence with something, our wait staff was suddenly present and offering to help.
The Adolphus Hotel does offer free valet parking for people who eat at the French Room. The valet happened to recommend the crab cakes to us as a first course, which we both enjoyed. My wife also really liked her halibut and rissoto. I didn't want to leave Dallas without eating steak at least once, and although it wasn't a classic steakhouse offering, the black angus tenderloin with the bacon truffle potatoes would satisfy most meat and potato people. For our dessert course we both had souffles, and the kitchen even wrote 'Happy Anniversary' in chocolate along the edge of the plate.
Overall, a great experience which we would be happy to repeat the next time we're in Dallas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mike,

The French Room staff is delighted that they impressed you on your anniversary.

As you found, they excel at making guests feel at ease in this splendid setting.

Thank you for your very kind compliments and praise. We appreciate it so much.

All the best to you both.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing