We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch above Neimans in Downtown Dallas”
Review of Zodiac Main St

Zodiac Main St
Reserve with OpenTable
Zodiac Main St is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #631 of 3,599 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Commerce and Ervay
Transit: DART stop at Akard and Elm Streets.
London
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lunch above Neimans in Downtown Dallas”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having lunch solo at the Zodiac restaurant above Neiman Marcus in downtown Dallas is like stepping back in time. White coated waiters treat you as if you are one of the society ladies who used to lunch there, and if, as I was, you find yourself sitting next to some of the new breed of society ladies discussing pedicures, facials and divorce you need to pretend not to hear and definitely don't giggle. The salads are very good. The popovers are an absolute must, even for those on a diet. Whether or not you shop at this high priced downtown store is up to you, it's worth a visit for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going against the tide of reviews”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have attended the Zodiac room holiday buffet for years now and find it to be well worth the money for the quality of the food and for the choices they have presented.The biggest negative I have found is the selection of desserts which are VERY lackluster...they really ought to work on that seriously.I think it is very festive and a great way to celebrate holidays with friends in a lovely atmosphere with overall service being consistent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
300 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Ladies Who Lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile


No trip to downtown Dallas would be complete without a visit to the ridiculously expensive Neiman Marcus flagship store on Main Street. For me this also included lunch at the Zodiac Room.

As I sat at my beautifully appointed table I couldn't help but sense the presence of the Dallas society matrons whose day of shopping at Neiman's always included a ladies lunch there. I remember reading a book many years ago that talked about the wealthy ranch owners who would go into Dallas with their wives for some time in the city.

I digress - lunch was very pleasant. Service was first class. Both of us selected items from the daily specials; the slow roasted roast beef sandwich and the Asian beef salad. Before our items arrived we were served the famous popovers with strawberry butter which were every bit as yummy as I expected. The sandwich and salad were very good and portions were very generous, which was somewhat of a pleasant surprise.

If you have time on your travel itinerary I'd recommend treating yourself to lunch (they are not open for dinner).

Helpful?
Thank DearDona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Holiday Buffet at the Zodiac”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a wonderful experience at the Zodiac in Neiman Marcus - the Christmas Buffet. Excellent choices on the buffet - Sear Rare Tuna, Chopped Italian Shrimp Salad, Orange souffle and other salads, Roast Black Angus Prime Rib Roast, Turkey, Herb Dressing, Yukon gold mashed potatoes, roasted Brussels sprouts, brown sugar sweet potatoes, Pork Loin, Seared Salmon, Roast Chicken, Mac & Cheese, Potato Latkes, Fresh Ravioli, Small Bites and Neimans classics and seasonal vegetables. To top it off, sweet treats - tiny tarts and cookies.
The staff was very accommodating and helping, the restaurant is beautifully decorated on a dedicated upper floor. Walk right off the elevator and into the Zodiac.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcKay1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Yummy Lunch.”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great menu. Great popover and spread as stated in earlier review. Wonderful customer service. Just perfect place. A bit pricey for some pocketbooks, but a good treat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zodiac Main St also viewed

 

Been to Zodiac Main St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing