We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks in a charming underground location”

Dakota's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Dakota's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: San Jacinto
Description: We believe the best steaks come from the best cut and quality. That's why we get all of our beef fresh from renowned beef purveyors, Allen Brothers. Each cut is corn and grain fed USDA Prime steak that our chef handpicks. Each steak is aged for a minimum of 28 days for a perfectly tender, juicy bite every time. It is our goal to give you a great meal every time you join us for lunch or dinner. We update our menu twice a year so each time you dine with us you experience fresh flavors that go with every season.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steaks in a charming underground location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very friendly and attentive service; we both had the 8 oz filet, which was excellent, and properly cooked. The asparagus side dish (plenty for two diners) was also delicious. Highly recommended for a romantic evening in Dallas. Try to sit in a booth, as the room can get a little noisy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjhNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    87
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great place that is under downtown Dallas! It has excellent food and service and a huge wine list. Dakota's has been around for 25 plus years and always forget how good it is till I take someone new there. Plus, friends that will wonder whats going on when they get on an elevator in the middle of a busy street.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Where is the place to get GREAT STEAK?”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

You guessed it! Dakota's steak house is the place to go for that meal you've been thinking about all week. I went here last month for a business meeting, and they were so happy with the meal it set a great mood for the afternoon. The waitress was just amazing, couldn't ask for better service. The place is not just a steak house, they have more to offer on the menu. I am more than content getting the rib eye, every time. If your looking to impress a business partner, take them here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not a Steak eater so my review has nothing to do with steak”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went for lunch- crab cake for appetizer, salmon for entree and key lime pie for dessert. Nice experience ad would go back for dinner some day( but not for steak, but just to feel "grown up".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChikaLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
242 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place to have a variety of meats as well seafood. Location is great and easy to get around in cabs or valet service at the entrance so that you don't have to look for parking !!! Given its a steak house it does not come across stuffy as the wait staff is attentive and eager to serve. I had variety of seafood from oysters,scallops and crab cakes and they were good. Main course of course was ribeye steak (medium) was really good and the temparture of the steak was just right to enjoy succulent meat.
Good selection of wine with your meat choices so go ahead and enjoy if you are in Dallas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dakota's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing