We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our latest trip”
Review of Loon - CLOSED

Loon
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Our latest trip”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

With the passing of the owner, Louie Canelakes, everyone was worried that the quality would slip. I can assure everyone that the quality of the food is as good as ever. This is of course due to the phenomenal talents of Chris Canelakes, Louie's brother and partner. The front of the house is being lead by the great and talented bartenders and the personable wait staff. The drinks are still free pour and of great value. This place is always full even on our favorite night, Monday. Louie and now Chris welcomes families. Just remember they only take American Express.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Burger; Best Drinks in Dallas”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Make sure to check this place out before they move/close in Spring of 2014.

Best pour in Dallas and a very good burger.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If your a fan of stiff drinks”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Probably the strongest drinks I have ever stumbled upon, which makes this ordinary sports bar glorious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A hold back from an lost era.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Loon has been one of those places that you read about or see on TV or the movies. It is dark hole in the wall type of place. This is sort of like a "Cheers" for the uptown district in Dallas. If you are a regular, then everyone does know your name. The waitresses know your favorite drinks. But the hidden gem is the food. They have sandwiches that are outstanding. My favorite is the Philly steak sandwich. I have sautéed mushrooms added. Another favorite is the pork sandwich. It is a pounded piece of pork that is chicken fried. The bun is toasted and it is served with mustard. They also have many specials on a regular basis.

The entire atmosphere changes around 8 pm. The bar crowd gets younger and is a lot more crowded. The food is still great, but it gets hectic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't order wine”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to the Loon last night because a friend said that they had great hamburgers. It is bar, with TV's, loud, but very cozy. We ordered hamburgers and two glasses of wine (big mistake). Hamburgers were very good however, the wine cost more than the burgers....$26 for two glasses of wine. Morale of the story: Don't order wine at a beer place! We won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing