We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise> great pastries for holiday!”
Review of Stein's Bakery

Stein's Bakery
Ranked #26 of 82 Bakeries in Dallas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
TXAggieLady
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice surprise> great pastries for holiday!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Bought a cinnamon wreath, cheese straws ad sticky bun. Should have doubled my order for everything as it went fast! Friendly service

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stein's Bakery is the very best bakery I have ever visited. Everything is wonderful; however, the cheese pockets are an absolute must to try. My wife raved about these 30 years ago when we lived in Dallas and I never understood her enthusiasm for them, until I tried them. Unchanged after 30 years they are still great, sweet cream cheese in a Danish pastry, a but of white icing, etc. I stop by every chance I get and will drive 30 miles out of the way just to bring some home. Try it, you will definitely return.

By the way, the cookies, cakes and other pastries are wonderful as well!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our Christmas Tradition”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

For more years than I can remember, we have had Stein's coffee cakes for Christmas morning breakfast. I always call ahead and they have them fresh and ready for me when I arrive. They are so delicious and I can't imagine Christmas morning without them.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwag40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the few things I miss @ Dallas”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After I moved East from Dallas I missed five things: time & temperature signs, Jason's Deli, SW Airlines, roads with wide shoulders & Stein's Bakery.

Now my car tells me the temperature, Jason's Deli is in the county next door and SW flies from IAD & BWI.

But I still don't have roads with a shoulder wide enough to ride a bicycle on in Virginia or Stein's. This is why every time I visit Dallas I take snap–and–seal containers and fill with Stein's peanut butter cookies, icebox cookies, Danish and all the rest. Then I prepare to fight any nosey TSA drone that wants to test my baked goods for explosives.

You can't take the shoulders home with you, but you can take the Stein's and I recommend you do so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelRShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“super birthday cakes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want something special for a birthday cake, this is the place to go. They let you order the cake to fit your tastes, and can decorate it how you want. Best part is it tastes as good as it looks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stein's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing