We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern food in a very nice environment”

Hattie's Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 3,626 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great southern food in a very nice environment”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

White table cloths and nice decor provide a nice than normal backdrop to food options that warm the stomach and please the palate. Nice for business or couples. Have been there several times and will again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    89
    36
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & dependable service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Although the location is not quite as convenient as some of our other favorites, we never pass up an opportunity to join friends at Hattie's. The service is excellent, the food is wonderful, and the staff make every effort to ensure your experience is a good one. I highly recommend the fried green tomatoes, and the lettuce wedge is also a great choice. Or,as one of the men at our table remarked, "you can't go wrong with anything wrapped in bacon.".

Helpful?
Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid southern food”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Down home southern cooking if your mom was a gourmet cook. My wife and another coulple I dined here when another local place had longer waiting list than we could handle. the food was teriffic, tasty well prepared and well served in a comfortable warm dining room.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ruib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking at Its Best”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hattie's Restaurant is located in Dallas' Bishop Arts District and provides diners with a high-quality "Southern-Style Dining Experience." The menu includes a variety of items traditional to "Southern Cuisine" that are difficult to find in the Dallas Area. Our "dinner for two" consisted of crab cakes, a warm blue cheese slaw, shrimp and grits, and the meat loaf and mash potatoes dinner. We "cleaned our plates" and enjoyed every bite of our dinners. Unfortunately, were too full to sample one of the delicious desserts included on the menu.

All items were beautifully plated, cooked to perfection, and certainly representative of "the best" in Southern Cuisine. Sarah, our waitress, helped with our selection of menu items and was most pleasant. She and others at Hattie's added greatly to our enjoyment of the meal and made this dinner a memorable dining experience for us.

After our dinner at Hattie's, we are looking forward to returning for a Sunday Brunch. For this and future visits to Hattie's, we will be sure to make reservations and suggest that others who wish to visit this restaurant and enjoy "Southern Cooking at Its Best" do the same.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPGTheATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upscale Southern class”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Love the varied menu with a Southern twist. Hattie's proves you don't have to deep fry everything to offer Southern charm.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hattie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing