We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it...”

Truluck's Seafood, Steak, and Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Seafood, Steak, and Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Maple
Description: Our Dallas seafood, steak and crab house restaurant offers the freshest Florida stone crab, fine wines, full bar and tender steaks. Enjoy fine dining with our weekly updated seafood and steak menu.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Not worth it...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The food was good enough for a middle of the road seafood place, but they present themselves as something better and charge for it. The sides were overcooked, the seafood prep was very average both in presentation and seasonings. Our particular server was terrible, not remembering who ordered what and getting our orders wrong. She was also difficult to find when we needed her. The owner or manager came by to give us his card, but he wasn't around either when we couldn't find our server, and the place wasn't that busy. I don't know what other options you have in Dallas, but don't go to this place thinking you'll find something extraordinary by overpaying for what you would get in any of 50 steak / seafood restaurants in Chicago or NY for example.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesteve123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    164
    39
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, great service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to truluck while on business and staying at the hotel Zaza. Had the seared tuna for dinner and it was amazing! The service was wonderful. I was dining alone and everybody made me feel special. Great dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank phillytravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decreasing Quantity Compliment the Increasing Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have been to this restaurant at least 10 times in the past 5 years. While I understand rising prices at high end restaurants, the past year or two I noticed the smaller portion size on almost every seafood dish. I tried it for the first time this year on a business dinner, and the fish was about 40% less than what Truluck's used to serve. Quite disappointing.

Service was adequate, however our waiter had no personality. The other servers appeared energetic and attentive, so I will not hold it against them for one not being up to par.

The restaurant still gets three stars for quality, however an app, salad, and entree still would not fill up the average individual. Enjoy extra bread! This was my last visit here, as Dallas has too many other great options who do not cut corners to increase company profits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roetgen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had a fantastic pork chop, and the steak was excellent, wine at 50% off so that we could try something special, and a really good friendly waiter

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So much better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I am a forgiving type so went back while visiting Dallas on business. See earlier review for that experience. It was the night of the 2013 ice storm and the place was quiet. Brilliant service - most excellent pork chop. I can safely say this time I will be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baguette15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Seafood, Steak, and Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Truluck's Seafood, Steak, and Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing