We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Duck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lavendou

Lavendou
Reserve with OpenTable
Lavendou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Frankfort
Description: Lavendou, a retreat into the French countryside - a place where life is savored as much as the food. Lavendou is thoroughly French, from the inviting decor to the gracious service and authentic cuisine. But don't expect it to be pretentious. Owner Pascal Cayet is dedicated to providing service that is friendly and efficient. And you will find Chef Francois Soyez's menu to be deliciously approachable. Serving the lighter fare of Southern France, Lavendou offers many items to tempt your taste buds.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Duck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

They have a rotisserie so the duck is spectacular. The food is clean and consistent. The service is wonderful and we really enjoy Patrique's music. Excellent wine list! I go here every chance I get!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenniferteddlieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    43
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Southern French dining experience !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visited the Lavendou Bistro for the first time on our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised. I have to say that this was our first experience at Southern French food (have been to Le Peep for brunch/breakfast, but totally different experience) and were a bit unsure if it was the right pick especially for our anniversary dinner, but we decided to brave it and I am glad we did !!!
The restaurant itself is a little difficult to find, in a small strip mall, but once you do find it , the ambience is unmistakably French. We were greeted by a smiling, gracious host , promptly attended to by a very French server :) , a bit intimidating at first, but warmed up pretty quick !After an appetizer of steamed mussels in white wine sauce , we ordered a main course of Roasted Chicken(for me) and Grilled Trout (for DH)(YUMMMY !!!! The pics don't do justice to just how good the food was ) and ended with Creme Brulee (me) and French Chocolate Cake (DH). I must admit , the cake was WAY more delicious than myCreme Brulee !! Just one small note, for the price of the food , we were definitely expecting the place to be lot more 'fancier'.
Overall , a very pleasant experience and an evening well spent . Will definitely recommend a visit to Lavendou .

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Mills, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea: below expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We live 2 hours from Plano/Dallas and chose Lavendou because of the good reviews of the location and tea service. Our oldest daughter simply requested a nice afternoon tea to celebrate her sweet sixteen with our family and the nearest lovely spot (we hoped) was this restaurant in Plano that touted its afternoon tea.

Pros: 1. It is in an easy to find location in a nice area of Dallas/Plano.
2. The ambiance and French Provincial interior was classic and very fitting.
3. Since we made a reservation, as the website stipulates for parties of 5 or more, we were seated when we arrived.

Cons: 1. When we were served, the man who seated us brought two teapots to our table and had never shown us a tea choice list....(To quote the website: "Finger Sandwiches, Mini Pastry Plate, Tea Breads, Scones, Cream, Butter, Jam and CHOICE OF TEA $16.95"). When I asked him if there was a possibility of ordering another kind of tea his succinct response was, "That is the tea (English Breakfast) that we serve for afternoon tea and no one has complained about it". I left it be because our daughter (16yo) I could tell just wanted me to leave it as it was, but I knew that prior to arriving she had wanted to find a new tea to try.
2. With 6 people, we easily finished our two pots of tea (which was quite flavorful) right after they brought the food but sat and waited for a while until I had to go and find the host again and request more tea, which was promptly served to us.
3.We were only served 12 tea sandwiches (which were sandwich halves but without crust they add up to about a quarter of a sandwich). When we quickly devoured the only okay tasting chicken salad, cucumber, and ham mousse sandwiches I asked if there were more coming to the table and the host explained that the service only covered one sandwich per person...hmm, for $16.95? And then offered to give us a menu and buy a lunch if there was more we wanted.
4. The scones, though fresh, were small golf ball sized and instead of butter or double cream we were served whipped cream to go with them. And though they were pleasantly crusty on the outside they were dry on the inside also with only an "okay" flavor.
5. The pastries (mini raspberry tarts, chocolate eclairs, and cream filled puffs) were plentiful for our number but obviously pre-prepared and refrigerated, which had rendered them near flavorless...example, my 5 yo who loves "tea parties" had a small raspberry tart and proclaimed the fresh mint sprig on top the best part...she was right. both the eclair and puffs were overfilled with cream and most were left partially eaten.
I so wanted to have a great tea/birthday experience worth the price and the drive, but we won't be going back and hope to find another spot for the next celebration.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

For exquisit, melt in your mouth French cuisine, you cannot miss with Lavendou.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinglegirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service, Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent country French food, featuring the lighter fare of the south of France. It made our anniversary special. We will be back many times.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longhorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lavendou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing