We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay but there's way better in town!”

Banana Leaf Thai Cuisine
Ranked #400 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“It was okay but there's way better in town!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our food was average. They basically only have one or two wines to choose from. I felt the next day that my food had msg in it but I could be completely wrong. We won't be back only because there are way better places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenniferteddlieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Humble
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food/good value”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Based on reviews we'd seen, we stopped there after a round of golf, but didn't know if we'd be accepted (I was in golf shorts). We were welcomed and seated promptly (it was early on a Saturday evening). Our orders were correct and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her red curry chicken. I had the spicey basil chicken, and it was excellent, and way more than I could eat. My wife had not had Thai cuisine before, and is now a convert. Would definitely go back. Wish they were in Houston.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ALWAYS WONDERFUL FOOD!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I love going ot this wonderful restaurant! The food is so fresh and bright! I have NEVER had a bad or even so so meal at The Banana Leaf! Even our children ages 9-15 enjoy the food!! Steve is the owner and he is so accomidating and remembers return customers giving it even a personal touch experience. The peach tea is amazing and my favorite meal is the Basil Chicken - my husband's favorite is the Beef Pad Pling King. Get the appetizer sampler to try the different options and sauces for dipping. Wonderful lettuce wraps - that is what our girls like to order for their meal. Also they can make your meal to order as far as how spicy you might want your meal. Everything is made fresh - not sitting under heat lights. All in all this is one of our favoite places to eat!! On a side note - they have great lunch specials that include the soup of the day and a really good salad with a peanut sauce included with your meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I've eaten here several times, following a Groupon purchase. Everything we have tried was wonderful. I particularly like glass noodles, so I order the Pad Woonsen with chicken.

Helpful?
Thank Yippie-Yi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
572 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Thai, great portions/service”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Finding decent restaurants in Plano has been a chore!

This place exceeded our expectations for food and service. I will say that, somehow, though we were one of only three tables, we were somehow surrounded by screaming kids. One of them landed in my booth. The portions were large and the food was good, and the staff was nice and attentive.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Banana Leaf Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing