We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Steak in Big D” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palm Dallas

The Palm Dallas
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm Dallas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 3,560 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Bergen County NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Steak in Big D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Joined family members for an amazing dinner while in Dallas for business. We had terrific steaks and shared a scrumptious potatoes au gratin side dish. The service was impeccable and friendly. The steak was cooked perfectly and literally melted in my mouth.

And the wait staff was incredibly patient as we lingered over our meal, and enjoyed a mini family reunion and lots of conversation. We were the last table in the restaurant and there was no pressure to leave.

Highly recommend this location!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevMotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    55
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Steakhouse/Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A great place for steaks and Italian food. I've had all the steaks but the best is the Veal Parm and a side of hasbrowns!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My first time at The Palm; Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Eating steak at any restaurant is not something I do very often. I believe I can do better at home. However, that being said, our first dinner meal at The Palm in Dallas was excellent. Our server, April, did a fantastic job. We started with Ceasar Salad, Lobster Bisque, and the bacon-wrapped scallops. All were wonderful. Then, my wife and I split the "Bone-In Filet" adding one-half of a 3 pound lobster. The filet came prepared medium rare as ordered and was accompanied by a Brandy Peppercorn sauce, which was not needed. The flavor of the filet stood on its own without any help. The lobster was tender and very tasty. We also ordered the Three Cheese Au Gratin Potatoes. Oh, what a delight they were! We asked April to "surpise us" with dessert. And she did, with a wonderful carrot cake. The Palm Dallas is located in Downtown's West End district and is quite convenient to the Dart rail. My recommendation is: "take a ride on Dart to the West End Station and eat dinner at The Palm."

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a good dinner here. Food is not exceptional (you would expect that for the price tag) but still very good. We had fish and steak which were both very good but again as said above I expect for this price tag the food to be better.
Interior is nice service is OK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank huub9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best lobster you can get this far from lobster country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are a lot of great reasons to go to the Palm: excellent steaks, great wine selection, ever-changing and always delicious appetizers, and a friendly staff that will remember your name. I think the best reason is their lobster: broiled lobster. We could discuss the pros and cons of different simple lobster preparations, but for my money, I'll take broiled lobster every time. The Palm also adds their signature twist to broiling lobster: they add a little cream and butter over the top before it goes under the broiler to keep it moist, rich, and succulent. For an even better lobster experience, here's a good tip: ask for regular melted butter instead of their standard clarified butter - this is the type of special request that The Palm doesn't mind at all. What's the difference you ask? Clarified butter is butter that has been melted and the foamy butterfat solids are then all skimmed off - they just stole all the great butter flavor (which is even better with salted butter, but few fancy restaurants even have salted butter on the premises). Chefs like to clarify butter so they can cook with it. It raises the smoke point so that the butter doesn't burn as easily with high heat applications. As a side of melted butter with your lobster, this is unnecessary and makes no sense: there is no reason to remove all the tasty elements from the butter. Tip #2: since you will almost always get unsalted butter in these settings, shake a little salt on either your lobster or into your melted butter. What food do you cook that isn't better with salt? A little salt enhances the lobster flavor, which is the point here, not to use so much that it tastes obviously salty. I hope this helps you enjoy your best lobster dinner ever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Dallas also viewed

 

Been to The Palm Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing