We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum experience ever.”

The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #3 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Get an in-depth, interactive look at eight years of presidential history at America's 13th presidential library and museum. Explore important issues and events of the administration of President George W. Bush as framed by four themes: freedom, opportunity, compassion and responsibility. NEW FOR 2016: Step into the candidates' shoes in "PATH TO THE PRESIDENCY," a special exhibit on the history of campaigns and elections in the United States. Extend your visit with a stroll through the 15-acre Native Texas Park, enjoy a meal at Café 43, and take home a piece of the presidency from the Museum Store.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
421 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Best museum experience ever.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

While this museum isn't the largest nor does it have the most artifacts, but it's laid out and managed to perfection.

The layout takes you through the Bush Presidency years as events unfold prior to and after 9/11. You find yourself understanding the difficulty of the office and the magnitude of the decisions that are required. Its laid out so that you walk in a circular path that covers everything.

There is an exact replica of the oval office set up like it was when he was in office. It was cool to see the Texas art he picked out to adorn those hallowed walls.

Tons of audio and video presentations that were super impressive. If you get a chance, go here. Worth the time and money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyomingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,904
    608
    176
    37
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My dad has traveled from the Washington, DC area to TX, where we, his children live, to see the three Presidential Libraries. He has seen the best of the best in his neck of the woods, but he very much enjoyed the G.W. Library which my husband and I found very impressive as well. As the newest, it is very modern and has the latest technology, we booked online, and all the bells and whistles. Regardless what your political affiliation, it showed G.W. as humorous, folksy and funny, and no, he can't sing; it was enjoyable. Clearly 9-11 was terrible and it would have been a challenge to any President. Of all the Pres. Libraries in TX, this is the most expensive to visit, but nonetheless a very nice experience. Enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have visited all the presidential libraries so we made the trip to Dallas especially to visit this newest one. It is very well done with lots of video and audio. Was especially impressed by the number of staff that was on hand to talk to us and answer any questions. Parking leaves a bit to be desired. The only other complaint we had was that when we went thru the gift shop and out we were going to go get a cup of coffee. When I see Cafe I don't think it is a fancy restaurant but that is what it was so without going back thru security and downstairs there was no place to get a cup of coffee or snack. Just thought the name Cafe 48 was very misleading.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
277 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Summary of White House Years”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were somewhat disappointed in this Presidential Library and Museum. There was very little about their lives before they entered the White House. There was very little about the former First Lady. The plus of this library is that you actually get to walk into the Oval Office, unlike the other libraries where you stand behind a rope and peer into the oval office.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJo4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High tech and interactive”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this library. There are numerous videos of George and Laura Bush that are warm and personal. The 911 exhibit is very emotional. There is a section of steel from the World Trade Center. There are numerous interactive stations that allow you to delve into areas that are of interest to you. You can have your picture taken behind the president's desk in the replica of the Oval Office. The most interesting section was where the visitor's voted to learn more about one of the three top issues of his presidency and hear the advice of his advisors and then vote on how you would have proceeded.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing