We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast!”
Review of Ascension

Ascension
Order Online
Ranked #2 of 73 Coffee & Tea in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 3, 2016

The specialty coffee at this establishment is phenomenal! We enjoyed omelets and egg benedict breakfasts and found them to be well prepared, fresh, and ample in size. Service was a tad bit disappointing as all of our meals were delivered at different times. This could be due to the fact that it appeared that this restaurant was short staffed.Great location in Uptown.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank welovedmaine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2016

Most of this location is a restaurant with table service, both inside and outside. To the left of the register is a counter with stools and a couple coffee tables. Before going, I assumed that it was just a coffee shop. It is mostly a restaurant but also a coffee chop. The coffee was excellent (Central Blend - a mixture of coffees from Central America), and the atmosphere was very comfortable. The coffee was on the "pricey" side but excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank penmintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

This place fits well in the Design District - the decor is unique and the offerings are of high quality. The folks who work here are very friendly and know their stuff. Like many places in the Design District, parking is a challenge; it seems that valet parking for the shop starts around 10 am during the week maybe?

I've been here many times, and if I order from the bar, everything works like a charm. If they are busy, it might take some time to get your order, but that's completely understandable. If you sit at a table with waitstaff, there can be problems. It seems like the system they use to place orders might not always work; the wait staff use handhelds to record your order. This morning, none of us (four in total) received our order. After about thirty minutes, we were able to flag down the waitress. She re-ordered for us using the handheld, but that didn't work either. We flagged her down again and the third time was a charm.

In summary, it's a great little place; just know that unless you plan on staying for a good while, it might be best to order at the bar or just be willing to flag down wait staff if need be.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KPfeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Eggs Benedict with ham....excellent!!! Specialty coffees. Wife had traditional breakfast of eggs and bacon with potatoes. Everything was excellent.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

I really enjoy this coffee house. I prefer local places over the SB chain. The coffee is great and the atmosphere is inviting. They have snacks and some food items. I have only had bakery items as far as food is concerned. The only draw back to this place is the parking. You will rarely get a parking place in their small lot. Most of the lot is shared with other places of business and is valet only. However, you can park fairly close on the the street! They also have a dog friendly patio! Take some friends and enjoy! It is worth the visit and I'm sure it won't be a one tie thing!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank TLS56852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing