We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!!!!”

Perot Museum of Nature and Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #5 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inspiring minds through nature and science.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Tons of things for everyone in the family and well worth the time to go!! Perfect for our 2 1/2 year old granddaughter all the way to my 25 year old daughter for a mom/daughter day.

You can't go wrong with this place!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,673
    705
    195
    55
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visited the Perot last week on a Thursday evening so we could include 10 extended family members. Applause, applause to the Perot staff for making science so much fun. Interactive exhibits abound. Don't miss the children's museum and the sports museum in the basement. In the gem area they had the largest geode I have ever seen (you could stow away in it). Three hours was not enough so we have to go back. We already have our favorite spots that we will have to revisit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BagsRPacked16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this museum!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The building itself it stand out. Big, square, silver...it looks totally out of place, like the pyramid in front of the Louvre, but I think it is already an accepted, exciting part of the Dallas landscape. You need to plan several hours, starting at the top and working your way down. The Universe and dinosaur exhibits are great-I like the universe and the galaxy the best. The gem exhibit is amazing and has some interactive activities. There is a huge area for kids and adults alike with hands on activities. One of the things that impressed me was that 90% of all interactive exhibits were actually working! The gift shop fit all pocketbooks. Food in the cafeteria may be a little pricey but it was very good! All in all it is now one of my favorite museums!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathyAiken_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interactive Learning Experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Recently opened, the Perot Museum of Nature and Science mixes fun with science.

The architecture of the building greets visitors with a concrete box. The designer transformed the ordinary cube by adding an external escalator enclosed in glass hanging from the structure. When ascending to the top floor on this escalator, enjoy the panoramic views of downtown Dallas.

Working your way down, each floor highlights a different area of natural science. The exhibits include dinosaur skeletons, birds, gems, astronomy, technology, engineering and more. Do not miss the Lamar Hunt Family Sports Hall in the basement for your chance to race a cheetah.

Many of the exhibits include interactive games and programs great for all ages. For example, in the Rose Hall of Birds, you can create your own bird, choosing the features of your bird such as body type, wing span, coloring and call sound.

In addition to the permanent collection, the Perot also features traveling exhibits. The Museum’s theater shows 3D films. A gift shop and café round out the museum experience.

Make the most of your time, as the Museum is not cheap. An adult ticket for the permanent collection costs $15.00. Combination tickets include the permanent collection, traveling exhibits and a 3D film.

The Museum is open 7 days a week (10:00 AM-6:00 PM), with shorter hours on Sunday (12:00 to 6:00 PM). The crowds were not bad on the Sunday afternoon we visited the Perot.

City parking is available by the hour under the Woodall Rodgers Freeway. Purchase a ticket from the machines with either cash or credit. Note that the maximum time is 4 hours.

While visiting the area, consider including a visit to the Nasher Sculpture Center, the Dallas Museum of Art, Klyde Warren Park or any of the cultural district theaters.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plethora of activities and informational stations”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went to the Aquarium first where pd all day parking was $7. We walked over to the museum.Depending on your party, this may not be an inviting option but we did it with our 6 yr old no problem. The cafe is rather expensive esp the drinks unless you get a fountain drink which is $2.50 with unlimited refills. Keep your cup. Great place for the kids as well as anyone who wants to learn about, uh lets see.....any topic you can imagine. Not really but pretty close. Bathrooms on every floor along with a water fountain. Outdoor area for kids is nice for brief break from learning. Cafe also nice place for anyone in party to rest and take a load off. Park closes right at 6. Will be back. Escalators and elevators.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perot Museum of Nature and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing