We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average Overall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas South Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NYLO Dallas South Side
Ranked #46 of 199 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Note there are 2 NYLO's in Dallas. I stayed at the NYLO Southside and other co-workers stayed at NYLO Las Colina's (near DFW). I was able to see both.

Pros: Very cool loft style rooms with exposed fixtures and energy saving rooms (you use your room key to turn on the lights). We had a car and parked it out front after inquiring at check in. No cost, but sounds like you need to double check based on other reviews. Music wasn't that loud, but I was on the 2nd floor, further away from the rooftop bar. I had ear plugs I used and was fine.

Cons: Service - At Southside we checked in around 10pm. The woman checking us in acted like she could care less about us being there. Example is when my co-worker got his room key he walked away and went to his room. When I got my key card I asked a few questions and said that it would've been nice for my co-worker to know. Her reply: "Well he shouldn't have just walked off". Not the professional response I expected.

My co-worker who stayed at Nylo near DFW loved it. It appears a newer and I preferred the lobby (more funky attributes). I would stay there to give it a try.

Room Tip: Lower room for less rooftop bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for the feedback and I sincerely apologize about your reception upon arrival. We strive to make every guest feel welcome upon arrival and it seems we failed to do so in this event. I will certainly address this with my front desk team and make sure it doesn’t happen in the future. I hope that you give us another shot in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Trent Yoder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    139
    39
    28
    23
See reviews for
29
154
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently travelled to Dallas for our son's wedding. We were hosting the rehearsal dinner and needed to find a venue downtown. Having stayed at the NYLO in Plano- and liked it very much-we decided to check out the downtown hotel.The pictures online showed a terrific view of the skyline at night from the rooftop bar. We were put in touch with Griselle, the events manager and booked a block of rooms for our guests. Griselle could not have been nicer or more helpful in setting up the rehearsal dinner, which we held in the library/ lounge off the lobby. We had my 96 year old mother-in-law with us and Griselle made sure that we had an ADA room for her and her companion and also arranged for a birthday cake for her at the dinner. The food was delicious and everyone had a great time.
The rooms are quite large and the beds are incredibly comfortable. And the atmosphere of the hotel is funky, which we liked a lot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Having said that, the hotel does attract a young, extremely noisy crowd on the weekend. As another reviewer experienced, we also had to call down to the desk because of screaming in the halls, bell ringing in the middle of the night, loud music and lots of yelling as people were coming and going from the entrance, which unfortunately was directly below us. Maybe it was only because it was a holiday weekend, I don't know. It wasn't enough to ruin the trip- and I would emphasize again that everyone who worked there was delightful- but I would have to say that I would think twice about staying there again despite the good location close to downtown.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms, over the entrance. Very noisy, barbeque joint across the street with loud mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we were so proud to have hosted your son’s rehearsal dinner at NYLO South Side. And you are right, Griselle is a huge asset to our company. I do apologize for the noise issues and I assure you, I am addressing the issues. Some people just don’t know how loud they are. We hope to have you back when you have a little more time to just relax and enjoy the hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Trent Yoder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed at NYLO South Side about a year ago for two weeks(work) and had a great experience. The hotel is super cool looking and has really comfortable beds. I was planning to head to Dallas for a weekend and thought I would stay here again since I loved it the first time around. Totally different. They no longer have free self parking, fifteen bucks a night. Not a huge deal, but a surprise since it was free last time. Upon check in I was given a glass of champagne, nice little touch that was new. We headed up to the rooftop pool after getting settled in. A strange crowd with no seating. Very noisy and abnoxious people. That night at 2am we were woken up by screaming in the hallway. After the bar closes you hear everything inlcuding the drunken fights of all the people that were partying at the Soda bar.
I asked to move rooms the next morning and was accomodated. Our new room was a bit quiter but not by much. We were then woken up by a motorcyle blaring past the hotel in the middle of the night. We went out the next night and decided to go see what all the fuss was about at the pool. It was packed and noisy. We got carded at the door, annoying when you are obviously 21 and staying at the hotel. We decided to head back to our room. The elevator filled up with a bunch of drunk kids. When we excited the elevator to go to our room we heard silly comments about us going back to our room. Seriously! We are grown ups! This is not the crowd I want to be around.
Our room was fine. The bed is always comfortable but there were some issues in the bathroom. The door was really hard to open and close. The fixtures were hanging off the wall in the shower.
Needless to say we will not be staying at NYLO again. Next time go with the tried and true grown up hotel, Palomar, Hotel Lumen. Guranteed a great bar with mature patrons and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay and I apologize that we failed living up to your expectations. I would love it if you gave us another chance to prove that we are still the great hotel that you experienced a year ago. Please feel free to contact me at tyoder@nylohotels.com and I assure you we can make your experience with us more memorable.

-Trent Yoder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at NYLO while in Dallas celebrating our anniversary. We got in from the Reunion Tower rather late and decided to play some pool in the lobby. Chris, the guy working the front desk at the time, was absolutely fantastic. He was a joy to talk with, made us some excellent drinks and offered us complimentary champagne to celebrate. We will definitely stay there again as soon as we find an excuse to get back down there. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Can’t agree with you more. Chris is awesome. Glad everything went so well and hope to have you back to the NYLO South Side very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Signed up on TA specifically to warn you. OUR EXPERIENCE WAS TERRIBLE!!! Upon arrival, we heard vermin in the exposed PVC plumbing.The iron had rust in it and ruined my new shirt for a wedding we were running late for. I contacted front desk and was told the manager would get with me. Never happened. The sounds from the rooftop club will not allow a good night's sleep until well after 2:00 am. There is no room service. Add in the demographics of 'Souf Dallas' and neighbors arguing over chicken 'wangs' and fries and you will not enjoy the stay. What a joke. I've never wanted to leave a hotel this bad EVER!! Hope all NYLO hotels aren't this bad, but I won't be finding out. Should have stayed at the Omni.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SureWould80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We Stayed here for 1 night in May, when the Toronto Blue Jays were in town. It is truly breathtaking. I was mesmerized by the decor - its so incredible. Different, funky, Unique - something to see. The Rooftop pool is perfect! The hotel itself is a 2 minute taxi ride from downtown but worth it! The restaurant on the main level has incredible food. We had the chicken & Turkey Club with roasted tomato bisque & creme brule for dessert. I couldn't have been more impressed with the food or service. Will definitely stay here or at the other locations. Great PLACE!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Well what can I say about this review? Thank you so much and I’m glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I can’t agree more with you about the food. Hope you get back soon as we are just about to add some even more wonderful dishes to the menu. Let me know if I can assist in making arrangements for you to get back to Texas and NYLO South Side.

Stay Unique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the NYLO last week. The hotel has a fun, trendy vibe and the staff were all very warm and gracious. The room was great (very clean and it had everything I needed for my business trip) and the bed was truly excellent. The restaurant offers a wide variety of choices and that kept things from getting boring. I thought the NYLO was in a great location and it had easy freeway access for the times when I wanted to go out exploring. Parking is also very good. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the Dallas area. :+)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 513 and enjoyed noise free sleep each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for this great review and I’m happy that we were everything you expected. Next time you venture back this way, let me know and I will make sure we roll out the red carpet for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dallas
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#3 of 199 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 199 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 199 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Aloft Dallas Downtown
Aloft Dallas Downtown
#68 of 199 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO Dallas South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas South Side

Property: NYLO Dallas South Side
Address: 1325 South Lamar St., Dallas, TX 75215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 199 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO Dallas South Side 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in downtown Dallas at NYLO Dallas South Side - a boutique hotel designed with a passion for art, music, and the environment. Contemporary design blends seamlessly with the building's historic character, creating a unique and inspirational hotel that is also eco-friendly. Designed to LEED Gold status - NYLO Dallas South Side is one of the greenest hotels in the world. With green design, chic loft-style accommodations, the Terrace Bistro, and the rooftop SODA Bar and pool, NYLO Dallas South Side redefines the standard for a new generation of lifestyle hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your NYLO Dallas South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing