We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Dallas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NYLO Dallas South Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NYLO Dallas South Side
Ranked #32 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great hotel! Stayed here for a friends bachelorette weekend and we could not have been happier. The view of the skyline from the rooftop bar can't be beat. Staff was attentive and friendly. I apologize if I get her name wrong but I think it was Tia (?), she was especially great. Even shuttled us to our dinner reservations and we talked non-stop the whole way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l_hallsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    152
    44
    31
    23
See reviews for
38
170
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Huge room, but far from downtown, which is not necessarily bad, because Dallas is a horrible place. I reserved a room with booking.com but it did not work. Luckily they had a free room, which was very very spacious but not very cheap. Great view from the pool on the rooftop and nice food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

View is great, the pool is on the roof, amazing bar on the roof and great staff. Only complaint was a manager who was being too into our business as we were "younger". Go to the bar on the roof, order a drink and also order a burger from the bar staff. The restaurant brings it up stairs to the bar. So good! Really liked this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We live in Dallas and decided to have a "staycation". We chose this hotel for its uniqueness and reasonable prices, and it exceeded our expectations! The interior design was gorgeous, the rooftop pool had amazing views, the staff was warm and welcoming, always greeting us as we passed through the lobby, and the beds were beyond heavenly! I wanted to take that bed home with me! There is paid parking and valet, but we managed to avoid that by finding free parking around the hotel, since we didn't mind walking a bit. It's close to downtown, and there's a coffee shop underneath the apartment building right next door. We had a view of Downtown Dallas and our view was right along Lamar, so there was a bit of road noise, but that didn't really bother us. Also, the hotel is LEED Certified Gold, so it's a very environmentally friendly hotel, which I really admire. We've stayed at several boutique hotels in Downtown Dallas, and this one is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzinegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Check in was nice and easy, got the king room which we booked. The hotel is a boutique style place and has gorgeous furniture and artwork everywhere, the rooms are an industrial type look but it works. The bathroom has a big shower and separate toilet. No fridge or microwave in the rooms, just a coffee machine.

The first night we were there we had to move rooms as the people in the room next to us were making love and we could hear EVERYTHING! It was disgusting and I called to be moved, the reception called them 2 times to be quiet but that just made it worse. It isn't the hotels fault but just to let you know the walls are VERY THIN!!! We moved rooms and it wasn't to bad after that. I also had cockroaches crawling around so my hubby had to get rid of them as I hate them!

The one complaint I do have is the roof top pool area, my husband, mother and my aunty went up for a drink after checking in and the staff were to busy socialising with the cooler crowd in the pool. I ordered some chips and that took over an hour to get to me!! I had to ask 2 times what's taking so long and then when I asked the 2nd time the girl said they forgot to put the order in the first time. I wasn't happy at all. Other guests at the hotel had similar experience so the management really need to train their staff in customer service.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so you will need a car or you can walk to the train station if you need to get anywhere. There is a nice little restaurant across the road but that's it.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. If you are into staying up late and partying then I would recommend this hotel, but if you want something nice and quiet then this isn't the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalita8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazing rooftop pool, great view of the downtown Dallas skyline. Rooms were equally great -- eclectically decorated and beds are SO comfortable. The food from the restaurant downstairs was really delicious for all meals. The location, however, was disappointing. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't walk anywhere 1. Because its not close to anything and the walk to downtown is scary and 2. Because the area itself is a little dicey. The pool is what really made the weekend a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omni81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend, started off rocky when Tia at front desk was a little rude with my inquiry about early check in, which I was told wouldn't be a problem 3 times before so my bride to be could get ready, Tia eventually got alot nicer when I pushed a little, we checked in at 1 which was perfect, Rooms was nice and industrial, only issue was it takes over an hour to get AC to below 75 degrees, green room im told, it did get cold, just took all night, quiet in room, comfortable bed, Biggest downfall was no room service, no vending machine of any kind and no fridge in room, for $320 a night that should be addressed, Rooftop is AMAZING, best views of the city around, Overall not bad, but get a vending machine or room service, common at most high end hotels in Dallas.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnjb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
The Adolphus
#15 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,621 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Aloft Dallas Downtown
Aloft Dallas Downtown
#62 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO Dallas South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas South Side

Property: NYLO Dallas South Side
Address: 1325 S Lamar St, Dallas, TX 75215-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO Dallas South Side 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in downtown Dallas at NYLO Dallas South Side - a boutique hotel designed with a passion for art, music, and the environment. Contemporary design blends seamlessly with the building's historic character, creating a unique and inspirational hotel that is also eco-friendly. Designed to LEED Gold status - NYLO Dallas South Side is one of the greenest hotels in the world. With green design, chic loft-style accommodations, the Terrace Bistro, and the rooftop SODA Bar and pool, NYLO Dallas South Side redefines the standard for a new generation of lifestyle hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your NYLO Dallas South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing