We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Pera Turkish Kitchen
Ranked #503 of 3,594 Restaurants in Dallas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went with family on Saturday night at 6pm without reservations. They were able to get us a table right away. By the time we were done they were full. Excellent meal and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Disappointed Regular”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I have been coming in ever since it opened a couple of years ago. The food has always been very good and the service ok to good. We ate there this past Saturday evening.
The owner, Habib, is no longer on site. He is busy opening another restaurant which he had told us about the last time we were there about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Also the waitress, Jaleh, who has always waited on us is no longer working there.
What we found was the most disorganized mess. There were no set tables for the 2 servers to wait and there was too much business there for only 2 servers. We waited almost 45 minutes for our main course to come after we had finished our appetizers. The beef shish was ordered medium and came out well done. We ended up eating it as we never could get a server to come back.
We blew off dessert and coffee because we didn't have another hour to waste in there.
What a shame to ruin a really good restaurant to go off and open another!
Michael

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A truly great find”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently bought a Groupon for Pera. Having never had Turkish food before I thought this would be a good way to try it. My wife and I drove down from Corinth and met my eldest daughter for lunch yesterday. The smallish restaurant is in a strip mall and is nicely decorated on the inside. As I said none of us had experienced Turkish food before so we ordered several different things to share including the appetizer sampler, Turkish Shepard Salad, their signiture "Adana", doner kebab, Hunkar Begendi and Turkish coffee. While somewhat similar to Greek food the spices used a different. Everything was great. the bread they brought out to start the meal along with the accompanying spread was delicious. Also try the Kunefe for dessert which is shredded wheat with pistachio and soft cheese baked in the oven and served with thick syrup. The Manager Cengiz (pronounced 'Jengis') was very helpful in making the food selections. We asked about modern Turkey and his comments were very insightful.

We would make the drive down from Corinth/Denton again to eat here. You owe it to yourself to give this place a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxyfromAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Turkish food in the area”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Small place that has never disappointed us. We have eaten at Pera's at least a dozen times, and have always had positive experiences.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ny2plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great food. Great service. Be sure and visit here. As good as any food in turkey. Be sure and get the lunch special

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pera Turkish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pera Turkish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing