We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the time”

McKinney Avenue Trolley
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.98*
and up
Dallas' West Village Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 Transportation in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: MATA is a heritage or historical trolley system, recreating how a real trolley system of the early to mid-twentieth century looked and operated.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not worth the time”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you have plenty of time to kill...go for it. Otherwise, a nice trolly ride down a street with few attractions to look at. I don't know who said there were shops, dining and attractions all along McKinney; but they must have been on a McKinney other than the one in downtown Dallas. Even though the trolly was nice and the conductor?? friendly I cannot imagine what age group this would appeal to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hillscreeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    85
    24
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Cute, but it's just.... a trolley ride”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

It's ok. But I'm not sure I'd consider this an attraction as such.

Good thing is its free and takes u to west village shopping area. There's also a DART (lightrail) station at the end of this trolley ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROD70
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rosie the little Trolley that could and did!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a delightful time travel. Windows that operate. Clerestory that opens. Seats that go forward or backward. Quality of construction and appearance. History retold every day. Fabulous!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ROD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“fun and free says it all”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We walked to the end of the trolley line to pick it up, past lots of great skyscrapers. the line is fun to take and see the NW section of town. Plenty of stops along the way. Kids were really happy to get on the trolley. Saw many restaurants that we wish we had the chance to eat at. the car we rode in was 100 yrs old, and had been someones home for 35 yrs!! . Put back into service 20 yrs ago after being rehabbed. Take a ride in a real piece of history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Times”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we took a brief ride on the trolley on McKinney. Fun and saw different bars we wanted to visit. Recommend this for all

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKinney Avenue Trolley also viewed

 

Been to McKinney Avenue Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing