We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but quite pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dallas Marriott City Center
Ranked #29 of 204 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but quite pricey”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel located in the middle of downtown Dallas is very nice. The staff was quite courteous and helpful. The hotel room was spacious and clean. It is super convenient if you have business downtown. The only draw back is the amazing amount of taxes you will pay on your room. Also, they charge over $12 for internet charges. When they charge as much as they do for a room, it does burn me up a bit that they charge for internet. I did use the hotel gym on the top floor and it was quite nice.

Room Tip: They are renovating the atrium area that this hotel is attached to. Ask for a room that faces the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGardners_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    199
    69
    26
    15
See reviews for
64
83
25
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with the family. Checkin was quick and easy. Room was really nice and not too small. But the service really stood out.

My key kept not working and they quickly fixed it for me. I also liked that when there was a que someone appeared from nowhere to service you.

Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the atrium which was actually being dug up, however still a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furterbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and I would highly recommend it and definitely would stay there again. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful as was all of the employees. Our room was clean and spacious and looked out on the front of the hotel (N.Pearl St.) but noise was never an issue. Note: they have taken out the skating rink and are in the process of replacing it with a nice open atrium but as for now it is a construction zone. The food court was great except for the fact that it closed down at 5 each day when the office workers went home (not sure about the weekends). KFC, McDonalds, Taco Bell, Blimpies and, my favorite, Corner Bakery among others was great for b'fast and lunch. We did eat one evening in the hotel dining area and it was very nice but of course pricey. Fairly easy walking distance to the West End and next to the Dart system, if you like public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Good size rooms and clean. Internally facing rooms can be noisy from atrium area. Restaurants closed early nearby and area quite dead at night. Can't complain about service. Convenient location for business in area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great stay. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was yummy and staff was very helpful and wonderful about us getting a late check out. It is located just steps away from a Dart station which was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10C_R_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a very nice and clean hotel, conveniently located near Uptown. It was very easy to find and easy to check into. I did spurge on the valet parking, and that was a good spend for me. I do recommend taking the Valet option - especially if traveling alone - as the regular parking option is an unsecured lot across the street. The rooms are spacious and clean. I loved the fact that for the first time EVER, a hotel actually had extra feather pillows waiting for me in the room. Yay! I always wondered why requests were taken while booking, but never granted...well this hotel pays attention to the special requests.

My stay was for pleasure, I was there to run the Rock'n'Roll half marathon. The hotel was within a quick light rail trip to the Convention Center - very convenient. The weekend rate was definitely a value. My room had a view of the Dallas city lights which was quite pretty. The only downside was construction going on in the courtyard area - a bit noisy during the day but nothing overwhelming and I'm sure it will be nice once done.

Overall this is a good hotel, and I definitely recommend for a quick weekend getaway or for business as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWilder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel. I personally usually think Marriotts do a nice job in general so this was no exception. The sleeping area was nice, the common area was nice, but the meeting space left a lot to be desired.

Pro's :

Good location for any meetings in uptown or downtown.
rooms were very nice.
Staff was very friendly.
Rooms were clean
lots of food nearby for lunch

con's:
They were redoing the courtyard center while there, so jackhammers and trucks all day, everyday.
meeting rooms, are located under the parking garage. You hear a lot of noise from the cars.
all the great lunch options disappear by about 5pm, leaving almost nothing within a 15 minute walk. Through very empty city. Would not recommend for women travelers alone.

Overall it is a nice hotel, and I would recommend it if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
#41 of 204 in Dallas
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 204 in Dallas
1,989 reviews
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas Marriott City Center

Property: Dallas Marriott City Center
Address: 650 N Pearl St, Dallas, TX 75201-2818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#29 Business Hotel in Dallas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#40 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dallas Marriott City Center is a gorgeous Downtown Dallas hotel offering luxurious accommodations and an ideal location in the vibrant Arts District. Enjoy world-class entertainment, fine dining and exclusive shopping at Neiman Marcus’ flagship store. Visitors will appreciate our location near the Nasher Sculpture Center, Plaza of the Americas and Petroleum Club. Back at the hotel, guests are treated to eye popping views of the Downtown skyline, and can experience the radiant energy of our well appointed guestrooms. We are equipped for weddings and events with 14 meeting rooms, including the Plaza Ballroom and the Atrium which offers a soaring 15-story space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dallas Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Marriott City Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel City Center
Westin Dallas
Dallas Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing