We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, but pricey business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dallas Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dallas Marriott City Center
Ranked #41 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great, but pricey business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I had not been to this hotel in several years. It was previously a Westin and something else before that. Back then it was a serviceable business hotel. I chose it because of the proximity to my meeting location. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised to discover how much care has gone into updating this hotel. The room was of a basic layout, but the beds, dressers, mirrors, lamps, etc., all felt new. The room was immaculate. It was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've come across. It included a good-sized flat screen TV, which was a nice touch.

The service I received at check-in, and in responding to various questions I had about the area was excellent. I didn't have an opportunity to dine in their restaurant.

This is a very good business hotel. Be warned that it's not very close to the Dallas nightlife, but that's just a short cab ride away. Given the time of year (late January) and the location, I thought the price was high. All in all, though, it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyLordHeuksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    190
    63
    25
    14
See reviews for
58
74
21
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This Marriott has just been renovated, so the spacious new rooms were a nice treat during my stay for business in Dallas. The hotel is clean, modern and very nice and I am giving all of that 4 stars. HOWEVER, my stay here was absolutely horrible. I happened to be staying here the night of a college prom-like event and the hotel (every floor) was occupied by noisy, drunken college kids. The hotel tried to control them, but there were so many that they could not be controlled and, to be honest, they were paying for so many rooms and suites, I don't think they wanted to loose money and kick them all out of the hotel. I called the front desk 4-5 times and had to move rooms 3 times, to 3 different floors - these kids were SO loud and running down the hallways with garbage cans filled to the brim with beer bottles. I think if I had stayed here any other weekend, things would have been fine (I loved the hotel).

Pros:
-Clean rooms that are modern and very spacious
-Comfortable, clean bed

Cons:
-Noise (but I think it was just a problem on this particular weekend)
-Location as there are not too many restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights there for Dallas Market. First night we were tired so left the car with the valet (mandatory 23.00 a day) and went down to the one available restaurant. Nice lady seated us and we listened to the wind whistle thru for 30 minutes. After I got up and went back to the hostess, she at least got us some water (no ice, just water). We started visiting with the groups on either side of our table during dinner and they got the same service we did. After we were finally served, the food was great, except for the shrimp cocktail, which tasted a little strange. I thought it might be some unusual herbage in the boil,
but by midnight I was ill. There was a strange repetitive noise all night in the A/C fan. After letting them know about it, it was fixed the next day, and they said they could offer us breakfast. (Did not want more food)! Shower was great! The room was pretty clean except for the dust bunnies on the bathroom floor that got all over my slacks when changing clothes. Don't think we will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
326 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed over a weekend and were pleased with the weekend rate that included breakfast.

The rooms were large and comfortable - ours overlooked the galleria and the indoor skating rink. The retail section of the galleria keeps 'office hours', so don't expect much open after 5pm. At the weekend this part of Dallas is "quiet". We chose the hotel because of its location to public transport and its proximity to the major Dallas art galleries and museums. From that perspective it worked well.

The breakfast buffet was "adequate", you wouldn't describe it as anything special, but it was fine. The service was prompt and efficient.

The hotel staff gave us a number of recommendations for dinner on our 3 nights - they were good recommendations and we enjoyed them all.

Our one gripe, if you choose not to use the valet parking service is that the carpark in the adjacent office tower (nothing to do with Marriott) re-sets the weekend rate at midnight on Sunday. Our early hours on Monday carpark stay was in our view, excessively expensive, for what was "off peak" park.

In summary, we were well please with our stay, we felt we had received very good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed at the Dallas Marriott City Center for 2 nights in January 2012. I enjoyed my stay very much and I thought the hotel was very good. I stayed in a standard room (king) and at first I thought the hotel had upgraded me without telling me because the room was surprisingly large. The rooms seem to have been renovated pretty recently because they were very modern and clean. The beds are super comfortable but my sleep wasn't that great. I could hear a light tapping sound through my vent, which disturbed me a little. (I'm a light sleeper though and I doubt it would bother a heavy sleeper).

One thing that I particularly enjoyed was the number of outlets in the room. We all travel with so many small electrical devices these days and it can be frustrating when there isn't anywhere to plug them in.

The hotel is connected to a galleria and there are many places to eat (as well as an ice skating rink). Most of the shops and restaurants close around 5pm (or so), so I would not rely on them for dinner. The one thing I didn't love about the hotel was the room service. My food was lukewarm and soggy and not really appetizing. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and that was delicious though.

The hotel's concierge lounge is also fantastic.

The location of the hotel is great. It is located right next to a DART station, and it is only 2-3 stops from the 6th Floor Museum at Dealy Plaza. I'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjb11711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nice size rooms and good city views. Beds comfy, but heavy comforters are cumbersome. Nice bar menu in lieu of full dinner prices; well drinks $5 @ happy hour. No pool or hot tub, but two computer terminals available at no charge in lobby. Fun to watch ice skaters in rink adjacent to lobby. Valet parking is $23, breakfast buffet $19 with spotty service --ouch!
Easy 4-5 block walk to Symphony Hall, Winspear, and Performing Arts Center. West End, Deep Ellum would require short taxi ride. Just a few blocks to Dallas Farmers Market.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Elevators are prompt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you're a Marriott Platinum rewards member you'll appreciate the newly updated concierge lounge. It's beautifully appointed with comfortable seating and dining furniture, subdued evening lighting, and great views of the Dallas skyline. The lounge is huge with enough space so you can conduct a business call without being overheard by the entire lounge. Morning and evening food selection is very good - the staff does a great job of keeping fresh food available.

You can request a room with a view of the City Centre ice rink or the City itself. My king size room was well appointed, a decent size, quiet and quite comfortable, but most important it was well maintained.

The lobby was still ungoing renovations during my week long stay, but if the rest of the hotel is any indication it should turnout nicely.

If you are valet parking a car call at least 20 minutes ahead to have it ready for you or you risk waiting at least that long while the car is being retrieved.

The gym cardio and weight equipment were new and all was in working order. Marriott seems to be putting a bit more effort into this area of their hotels - finally! The hotel has a indoor lap pool (not regulation length at approximately 20m) that as a lap swimmer I was elated to see. However I decided not to use it since it was super heated - which works well for lounging around, but not lap swimming.

I will definitely stay at this hotel for upcoming Dallas business trips.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the City Centre ice rink for a change of pace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
#44 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dallas Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas Marriott City Center

Property: Dallas Marriott City Center
Address: 650 N Pearl St, Dallas, TX 75201-2818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#29 Business Hotel in Dallas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#40 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dallas Marriott City Center is a gorgeous Downtown Dallas hotel offering luxurious accommodations and an ideal location in the vibrant Arts District. Enjoy world-class entertainment, fine dining and exclusive shopping at Neiman Marcus’ flagship store. Visitors will appreciate our location near the Nasher Sculpture Center, Plaza of the Americas and Petroleum Club. Back at the hotel, guests are treated to eye popping views of the Downtown skyline, and can experience the radiant energy of our well appointed guestrooms. We are equipped for weddings and events with 14 meeting rooms, including the Plaza Ballroom and the Atrium which offers a soaring 15-story space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dallas Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Marriott City Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel City Center
Westin Dallas
Dallas Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing