We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Little Aquarium” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Children's Aquarium at Fair Park

Children's Aquarium at Fair Park
Ranked #46 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming Little Aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Growing up in Dallas, I have been to the Aquarium at Fair Park more times than I can remember, but a few years ago it closed for renovation due to its age (it was built in 1936) and serious infrastructure problems. My daughter and I recently paid a visit to the renamed Children's Aquarium and had an enjoyable time going through the facility, looking at the varied forms of sealife from the local Texas species to the exotic such as walking frogfish, moray eels, sharks, sea turtles, and jellyfish. Out back is the new shark tank and sting ray tank. Intriguing and fascinating to watch the zebra sharks and bonnethead sharks (similar to hammerheads). The building is small but they use their space to maximum ability. The employees/guides are knowledgable and friendly. Great for kids and adults both. The entrance price is a bit hefty (well, they have to pay their employees and feed their animals, after all), and some people might not feel it's worth it. We caught a $5.00 entrance fee during the State Fair of Texas (it's on the grounds of Fair Park), which we thought was a great price to pay. I left a donation in the jar at the front, too. We enjoyed our visit a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took our granddaughter to this quaint little place. Its older but has kept up with the times. Has many species of fish, turtles, snakes and stingrays. Not a lot to walk which makes it very nice for prople with small kids and handicapped people.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank psam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small but still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Took my kids ages 2,4,6,8 and they had a good time. It is small but still has a lot to see. They really enjoyed the sting ray tank.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adeemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Feed stingrays and see sharks up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Zebra Sharks and the Stingrays are the highlight of the aquarium. We loved feeding the stingrays and getting to touch them. It was a neat addition to the aquarium and very fun. The rest of the aquarium feels like an exotic fish store. There are plenty to see, but nothing too interactive. With small kids it was a quick walk through to see the different types of fish.

There are some very exotic looking creatures to see. A great variety for sure, but you just look and see. I like a little more to keep the kids attention. It is a nice aquarium, but does not take long to visit. An hour or two is plenty of time.

The aquarium is not bad on it's own, $8 for adults, but is included for free is you go to Summer Adventures at Fair Park. Best deal in town right now. All the rides, museums, and shows for one low price! Definitely worth a day in Fair Park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Aquarium for the kids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I remember this place from when I was a child but they have made quite a few changes since then. It is housed in an Art-Deco building with fabulous architecture (as are most of the buildings in Fair Park). Make sure you catch all the details: the stone carvings, the craftsmanship around the doors and windows, they do not make them like this anymore. Leaving the shell of the building untouched they have completely remodeled/renovated the inside. The tanks are all at a child's eye-level, they can easily see the fish and other creatures in the tanks. There is a large touch tank with a very friendly, knowledgeable staff member present who will assist the kids with touching/handling the various animals in the tank and provide information about each of them. They have also added an outdoor area with an impressive shark/ray exhibit. Make sure to catch a feeding time but even if you don't the sharks are always active. The ray exhibit has many smaller rays that the kids (or adults) can touch and feed (you can buy a fish to feed them for an extra dollar or two). This is great for both the kids and adults, watch out if you don't want to get wet as you can get splashed by the rays when they get excited about being fed. Some kids were having a birthday party in an underwater themed room to the side while we were there, I am sure that is a blast. There are lots of interesting things to see so take your time, overall I think about one to two hours is a good amount of time to spend here.We made a couple of circuits around the building and I think we saw everything. There are a few different kinds of jellyfish, lobsters, an octopus, sharks, eels, seahorses, a large display of local fish, a monsterous snapping turtle, an albino alligator to name some of the creatures you will see. There was no charge for parking and I thought the price was very reasonable considering what other places are charging around town. It's hard to beat for a fun very kid-friendly afternoon activity at a reasonable price. You do not have to have children to enjoy this place either, I saw many adults/couples on their own while we were visiting. The Aquarium has made many very positive changes and it definately fills a niche for families in Dallas and surrounding areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Aquarium at Fair Park also viewed

 

Been to Children's Aquarium at Fair Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing