We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Ranked #2 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Josh Goad - best concierge/bellman ever. Helped unpack and pack a Suburban for 5 days straight. Couldnt have been more friendly.

Loved the hot tamales --- EVERYWHERE.

Had a great balcony but was overlooking the pool which was a quite noisy at night -- if i were to stay again I would request not to look right over the pool on weekends.

Staff was super helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMS242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
TMS242 in NYC!

Thank you for the review! I am very pleased to read that Josh provided excellent service to you during your visit at ZaZa! I will definitely commend him for a job well done.Those Hot Tamales are delish; I am happy you like the treat!

Please touch base when your travels return you to Dallas, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    168
    47
    29
    30
See reviews for
64
316
49
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, and every staff member went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. The room was really large for a standard room and I liked that they windows actually opened. We stayed on the back side, room 429 which was nice and quiet. I imagine the rooms facing the front would be quite loud with the bar crowd on weekend nights. The butler service with coffee and tea in the morning on each floor and the afternoon cookies and ice tea in the lobby were nice touches. My only compliant regarding the hotel is if you're looking to relax by the pool on a Sunday afternoon, it's much like the nightly bar scene with loud music and the "bottle service" crowd.

The spa was disappointing - very small locker room with one wet sauna, no dry sauna or jacuzzi and only one shower. Small relaxation room, only large enough for 4 people and if the two lounges are taken you're sitting in straightback chairs at a little table - not my idea of relaxing.

My massage was great, facial only average. What was disappointing was the automatic addition of a 20% gratuity. I thought the word "gratuity" means this is optional, at the client's discretion if they feel the service was over and above. I tried discussing with the spa desk staff and she said this was a standard "service charge" much like in the restaurant. (Not sure what she was talking about there as the restaurant did not charge a service charge the three times I ate there.) If 20% is added automatically this should be included in rates, or at least disclosed on the website rate sheet, which it is not.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bll97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
bll97,

Thank you for the review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel ZaZa! The Butler's Pantry is a big hit with guests; I am glad you enjoyed the delightful service!

In regards to your spa experience, I sincerely apologize for your less than stellar visit. ZaSpa is typically a very inviting oasis! Please touch base with me, as I would like to gather more details concerning your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the perfect place to be somebody and nobody. They always treat you as if you're a friend coming over for dinner at the front desk and they mean it. Someone is doing something right at ZaZa and I pray they keep it up. The location is central to everything in Dallas and you can jump on the Toll Road and be as far north as you need in 15 minutes. The rooms are spacious and some have bath tubs, a must for my wife. The valet parking staff is superior to any I've ever experienced and don't make you feel like you need to give them $5 every time you get in your car, it's paid for and they know it and they're excellent. Best of all, they have a CAR and Driver to take you to places in the area so a couple of glasses of red is not too much.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath tub or, if you're feeling adventurous, get one of the theme rooms, very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
David G!

Thank you for the review! I am very pleased that you feel the love at every ZaZa visit! We understand how important the little touches are to our guests. The Magic Carpet Ride is one of the many gems of the Z; I am glad you found the complimentary shuttle service enjoyable!

Please touch base when your travels return you to the Big D, as I would love to create a signature experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Business trips can be tiring and very busy so in order to mitigate that, I arranged to get a room at the Hotel Zaza Dallas to enjoy some me time, especially since the conference I was attending was a hectic go,go,go type. I am so happy that I did for even though I was there only one night, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. My biggest surprise was that the suite that I was upgraded to was aptly named - The "Escape. It was large but not impersonal, two huge bathrooms with walk-in showers and one wonderful tub that I took advantage of and soaked my cares away while listening to some great music on my ipad. The bed was so comfy with great fluffy pillows which made me sleep like a baby. In the morning, the convenience of the butler pantry (why have other hotels not adapted this?) was quick and hit the spot for getting coffee in a hurry while getting ready to start another busy day. The convenience of having the luxurious robe was a plus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all business travelers as well as to any busy lady traveler. They do live to up their logo: they love ya at Zaza and make you feel special. Thank you for my "escape" from the ordinary.

Room Tip: If you can, do upgrade to a suite - you will feel like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsaw196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Isaw196!

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am pleased to read that your z-scape at ZaZa was thoroughly enjoyable! The Z team definitely knows how to provide guests with a signature experience. Please touch base when your travels return you to the Big D, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is nice! Very modern vibe! Staff is great! The rooms are a bit odd due to their rectangular layout but the beds are very comfortable. I haven't stayed in a hotel styled like this before. It's not bad at all but I won't go back due to feeling I'm not the right fit for ZaZa. I'm thinking its best for the below 40 crowd but who knows? While I was there I noticed the people staying there seemed to be younger and much more hip than me. I'm 48 and consider myself hip but age appropriate hip. Haha. The bar is VERY busy. Probably a great place for singles meet and greet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visited Hotel ZaZa and stayed just one night. All the staff was incredible - the concierge, Josh, was extremely helpful to us and while we don't typically stay in "nice" hotels his service might have spoiled us. He knew our names and any time we had a slight issue, he acted like it was his sole purpose in life to make it right. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitlow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaZaHouston, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Whitlow H!

I wish we had nothing but Whitlow H's for customers! Your comments are so heartwarming regarding Josh's commitment to excellence! As I preach to the team on a daily basis, strive for perfection! However, if we fall short in a customer's eyes, do whatever we can to make them feel perfect after the next attempt!

I am so excited to read reviews like yours! Goose bumps! Thanks again for your kind words!

Matthew Nuss
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the most amazing hotel ever... I had an event there and booked a room for my son to stay with me while I worked. Not only was the venue perfect for the event, but the room and the service was spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
cmarier!

Thank you for the awesome review! I am pleased that you had an amazing time at an event held at Hotel ZaZa! Come back soon for a delightfully delicious experience at the Dragonfly or indulge in the serene world of ZaSpa. We love ya at ZaZa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 5,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt DFW
#1 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#14 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Adolphus Hotel
#15 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Property: Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Address: 2332 Leonard Street, Dallas, TX 75201-2020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#3 Family Hotel in Dallas
#6 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Uptown Dallas, Texas, Hotel ZaZa is a luxury boutique hotel that features concept suites, day spa, meeting facility, vacation packages, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaza Hotel Dallas
Hotel Zaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing