We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll keep the son and daughter-in-law a little longer.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aboca's Italian Grill

Aboca's Italian Grill
Ranked #723 of 3,560 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'll keep the son and daughter-in-law a little longer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

A few months ago, the aforementioned son and daughter-in-law had come to Dallas to see a concert. They had driven some 570 miles from Brownsville to Dallas and were using our condo for the weekend. They stopped in Aboca after they arrived because they needed a little something before the concert to fill their tummies. They told my wife about it, but she didn't mention it because, for us, Italian cuisine is not our favorite. Tonight, upon arriving from San Antonio, she mentioned this place, and we decided to go.

First, we had the Calamari Fritti. We always order this when we eat at the Silver Sage in Canyon Lake. Aboca's Calamari was plentiful, lightly fried, and the marinara sauce, from which I almost always abstain was not acidic and was very pleasant tasting.

My wife ordered the Aboca Pasta with shrimp and I had the Alfredo Pasta with shrimp. Both entrees were delicious. We were both stuffed by the time the meal was over and neither of us could finish the pasta. Of course, eating two loaves of bread with olive oil didn't help. The only thing that I didn't like about the meal, but that was taken care of by my wife's generosity, was that there were no capers in the Alfredo pasta. We were too stuffed to have dessert. I was eyeballing the Cannolli lasciviously but just couldn't handle it.

All in all, everything was nearly perfect and if our younger ones continue to spot good places to eat like this, we'll keep them around a little longer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VEPGHP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than "Just Lunch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

You can always find a delicious surprise for you taste buds here at the Meadow Central Aboca's. Even if you don't normally eat a certain food, like maybe eggplant, you will become addicted if you eat it here. I always have to take an extra order home for later.... It is so affordable, I may never cook again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've eaten in many strip center restaurants - Aboca's was amazing. I didn't expect the quality of food or the excellent taste. The menu was extensive enough to be able to try several of my favorites on many times we've been there. We keep taking friends there to surprise them too - even just for coffee and dessert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value and good people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Been to Aboca many times, Chef owned and operated, BYOB always reasonable prices, good food and portions. The eggplant, osso buco and risotto and lamb rack all really good as well as the reliable Italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply Fabulous food and passionate waiter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in the neighborhood and we went to the nearest recommended restaurant. We found a gem! The food was fantastic, and our waiter clearly had a passion for the food and wanted to share it with the customers. The bread and oil appetizer is incredible! We could not have asked for a better experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aboca's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Aboca's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing