We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Friday night to watch the Stars game”
Review of Anvil Pub

Anvil Pub
Ranked #576 of 3,626 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Went Friday night to watch the Stars game”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Liked the IPA's on tap. Fast and attentive service. Wished we could have stayed later. Will be back to try some more food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrCancun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected veggie find!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went on a weeknight, and it was a perfect spot to chill and enjoy the great beer selection and ample veggie versions of meaty dishes. Plus, it's always a good sign to see the wait staff enjoying a beer during their shifts.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Real Pub - with Good Service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great beer selection. My first time there and as a vegetarian, I would recommend it simply because of the amount of decent food and appetizer selections for non-meat eaters. I had great pizza with braised mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, feta, various peppers on super thin ( almost cracker thickness) crust. Tasty. Also nice pasta selection. Ambiance is clearly "Pub". With plenty of room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BamaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch - Stop in for "one drink" - You'll be so happy you did!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped in after a Sunday morning city ride with some friends. It was 11:00 and the restaurants were just opening in Deep Ellum. The man out front insisted we park our bikes inside. That was really weird and very hospitable at the same time. We sat at the bar and found ourselves looking at the "F--- Brunch!" menu. The dirty word brunch menu consisted of three drink options: a bloody Mary, a mimosa or sangria. Each drink comes with a meal tucked into the glass like garnish. An honest to goodness meal. My bloody Mary had a bacon cheese burger, a pickle, a pickled onion, pickled okra, an out-of-this-world roasted Brussel sprout, a roasted asparagus spear, a pickled green bean, a big chunk of pepper jack cheese, a hunk of summer sausage and of course a celery stalk. The mimosa had an egg "mcmuffin", tater-tots, melon, and a strawberry (I'm sure I'm missing something). The drinks cost $20 but it’s a "triple pour" served in a massive pickle jar. And they bring you a draft beer while you wait, so it a real value. Plus, you can honestly claim that you only stopped in for "one drink" and leave semi-blasted.

Very friendly staff. Everyone is coverd with tatts. It feels like a biker bar but there are hipsters all over the place (hipsters don't intimidate anyone) and a few kids. At noon on a Sunday it felt very inviting and non-threatening. You can bring your kids or your parents, as long as they know how to act in a bar with loud music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RusstyCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The food here is pretty inconsistent. I've had the pizza and it was glorious and it's also been pretty icky. My husband ordered the fish and chips once and it was really ridiculous. Clearly frozen fish and fries and not even cooked well. This place is great for drinks. The crowd and atmosphere are great on any night of the week. Many other great options in the area for dinner. They do have half-priced food on Tuesdays, though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_Sue_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anvil Pub also viewed

 

Been to Anvil Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing