We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Food in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mughlai Restaurant

Mughlai Restaurant
Ranked #392 of 3,580 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mughlai Restaurant embodies the spirit and essence of fine Indian cuisine. Located in the heart of North Dallas, Mughlai Restaurant takes Indian cuisine to a new culinary level, while still holding true to its traditional nuances. Much like the ambiance within the restaurant, Mughlai India's cuisine is a mix of modern style with traditional roots. The delectable cuisine and exotic refreshing drinks are sure to indulge anyone's senses. The restaurant can easily accommodate 122 people, with a private dining room in the back for up to 28 people. With its vaulted ceilings, and stylish décor, Mughlai Restaurant is truly a feast for both the mouth as well as the eyes.
Dallas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best Indian Food in Texas. Excellent DINNER experience.

I will start this review by saying I've never been impressed by Indian food in Texas. I've had lots in London and it's never even been close. The quality of meat is usually poor (think the cheapest pack of boneless/skinless processed chicken breast from Costco). If you know what I mean, you know the taste of 'rubbery' chicken. Also, the dishes have a pool of grease sitting on top, to mask the quality of ingredients.

We ordered the Chicken Kebab appetizer, Rogan Josh, Vindaloo, Chickpeas, Naan, Rice, Raita, and Pistachio ice cream. Right away, I could tell this place used good quality ingredients (better than India Palace).

Obviously, Indian food is heavy, but this place doesn't kill you with butter and grease. It doesn't feel AS BAD. For example, they ask you if you want butter or no butter on the naan (it's still soft without butter).

The service is outstanding. No pretentiousness here like you can get at other, high priced restaurants. The owner really cares and offered us a tour of the kitchen to show us that each dish is made separately and they are not using the same sauce as a base for multiple dishes. I declined but I will take the tour next time for sure.

The cost is higher than other Indian restaurants but what do you expect if you are getting better food and service? If you worked hard all week and want some good, ethnic food, it's not the end of the world to pay more for a BETTER meal. Like most things, you get what you pay for here. If you like wine, I will add that the owner doesn't up-charge his wine by a lot so we enjoyed a nice bottle of Catena Malbec. I hope he doesn't increase his price point because this was a BIG WIN! Most of the patrons were Indian....many Indians (like me) can be frugal. If they are willing to pay for the food at this restaurant, you know it's worth it.

In summary, just go try it. Pay the money. It's worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiLover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
711 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Mughlai Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went for lunch with a large group of business people. Everyone was pleased with the food choices. Not too spicy ( probably tone it down for the lunch crowd....) and very tasty. The choices were limited but the quality made up for the lack of variety. The Murgh Tikka Makhani looked great but as a non chicken eater I was unable to try it - the people who did went back for seconds so I can only assume it was good. The one desert choice Gajar Ka Halwa didn't appeal to me but again those that ate it really liked it. The vegetarian choices available were very good to excellent. The iced tea was great (and brewed !)

I will be returning for another meal and this time buy off the menu rather than doing the buffet.

If you are looking for a really good Indian lunch buffet, this was the best one in Dallas I have been to so far.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a place where you find authentic Indian food rather than American-Indian food. All of the items that we tried were absolutely delicious. Akbari biryani deserves a special mention.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhinavSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Probably the best and our favourite indian restaurant in Dallas. One of the few ones which actually serve authentic North indian food esp thier kebabs and curry dishes. Their best seller is truly the best dish " Murgh malai kebeb'. We even like the appetizers in the buffet, although the buffet is priced higher than most indian places. Its a great ambience for an indian restaurant and a very good place to bring your friends for an evening. Must try the indian beer they carry called 'king fisher'. In vegetarian dishes, our favourites are Dal makhani (just like the one you get in India) and Malai Kofta. They even make Baingan bharta and indian chinese sometimes. The best part of the place however is the hospitality and warmth of the owner who personally serves, jokes with you and asks your honest feedback.
Way to go !!
Highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shwetsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
285 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent. Eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were staying downtown and attending a convention. The food at the hotel was fair and we had a yen for Indian food. We searched and discovered Mughlai and gave it a try. It was a 20 minute drive from the hotel with little traffic. The restaurant opened for dinner at 5:30 and we arrived a few minutes early. Seating was fast and the service was more than attentive. The restaurant was clean and well lit. The menu was extensive with some choices new to us although we have eaten quite a lot of Ineian food over the years. The MASALA CHAI was superb. We had a bread basket with an assortment of breads that were delicious. I had a shrimp dish and my wife had a tandoori chicken dish. We shared a vegetable dish. We had no further room for dessert but we were given a tasty treat to take with us. The owner chatted with us for a few minutes and we wished him well. We both thought the entire dining expereince was excellent. Mind you, it isn't cheap but the price of ingredients, labor, and restaurant mantence keeps going up and there isn't much we can do about it. This is an excellent restaurant and we will dine here again when in Dallas. Highest recommendations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mughlai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing