We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OU/TX Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Private Social - CLOSED

Private Social
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hall St
Transit: The McKinney Avenue Trolley stops at the front door. The Cityplace Dart Rail station is 1/2 mile away.
Description: Private|Social, located in Uptown Dallas, is where the casual and upscale effortlessly mingle, creating an ideal setting for elegance with ease. While menu is chef-driven, it remains accessible to every palette and every wallet
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“OU/TX Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great service. Good place to go for a special occasion with friends and/or family (wouldn't recommend for children). Loved the "surf and turf" roll and the scallops entree.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average-But, Happy Hour was Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great service I would recommed the dumplings, the "surf and turf" roll was not for us but, the half price wine before seven was nice. I was a little disappointed the singer was not there but, was still listed on their calendar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripguru43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
1 review
“My surprise birthday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My 51st birthday Oct. 6 was delightful!!!!!! My husband surprised me with dinner at Private Social. I met chief Tiffany at the Treasure You retreat hosted by Pat Smith the week before. I shared with my husband how fantastic the food was and how passionate Tiffany was about food. My soulmate found a way to treat me to this exquisite restaurant. I love the element of surprise with the appetizer. The fried green tomatoes were mouthwatering and the best I have ever tasted. The Halibut was cooked to perfection. With this being a very busy restaurant the service was attentive and efficient. What a friendly environment. Cheif Tiffany even blessed us with her presence and he famous banana pudding for dessert. This was an end to a perfect birthday celebration. We will be visiting this restaurant over and over again! I can't wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smilediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Private Social is where I celebrated my birthday and my (5) five year anniversary as a Breast Cancer Survivor. It was positively a WONDERFUL dining event. We were greeted warmly by the staff upon entering the restaurant. Our server, Jessica, was FANTASTIC. We started off with (2) appetizers, the Fried Green Tomatoes and the Oysters Rockefeller and both appetizers were AWESOME. I selected for my main entree the Duck Fat Fried Chicken, which was a half chicken fried, of course, in duck fat and fried to perfection. Talk about DELICIOUS, Colonel Sanders might want to rethink his recipe. We also had a chance to sample the crispy fried pig ears and yes they were good. (Don't knock it till you try it.) The dessert of the Blue Almond Cake with Blueberries and Blueberry Sorbet was MARVELOUS. All in all, it was a DELIGHTFUL evening. My hat's off to Chef Tiffany Derry. BRAVO!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoLor349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
262 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Super Good Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

There were 4 of us there last week and the bar was busy with a couple of larger groups. Our server (s) were excellent, knowledgable, fast and friendly. Very good live Music started later on.
The food and snacks for HH were superb and more unusuaul than normal, Peppers, ribs, crisps, burger bites. Cocktails we all had; great gin drink and spicy peppers drink. Wines by glass all half price of very decent standard. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing