We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip”
Review of Omni Dallas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Dallas Hotel
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a beautiful property. Too bad our stay was marred by 2000 maniacal teenagers. They were like ants. On every floor, and everywhere. We told Management, and they told us to call security if we had any more problems. They were also nice enough to comp us breakfast, at Texas Spice. We stayed on the 19 th. floor with a view of downtown. Very nice. We will stay again, but will check to see if any large groups of young people will be checking in.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms, with the downtown view. But just know that there will be construction noise...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ihavethepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,830)
There are newer reviews for Omni Dallas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,576 - 4,582 of 6,830 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We booked the hotel based on a discussion via the Omni chat service on your website and photos from your website. We asked specifically if we would be able to view the fireworks display on the 4th from the pool area and were told we would. This was not possible. The photo of the pool on your website is not the pool at your hotel. One additional note is that the staff closed the pool about 15 minutes early because there was a maintenance issue that they wanted to take care of. It was not a safety issue. I can understand that the staff wanted to get things done it is a holiday weekend and they want to get home but because it is a holiday I can't understand closing the pool early. The bathtub plug did not work to plug the tub and we were traveling with children that do not take showers. The water temperature in the shower was either scalding hot or ice cold. It took about 10 minutes to get it to an acceptable temperature and then we had to leave the water running between showers so that everyone could have a comfortable shower. A side note is that the water pressure left something to be desired but this on its own isn't something I would normally bring up. Your hotel is beautiful and comfortable but things like a working shower and getting correct information about the hotel from the website and the staff is very important to my experience. I am very unhappy with our stay because of these issues. I did not have an opportunity to speak to someone at the hotel before we left about these issues because of time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Omni Dallas is a beautiful hotel. The staff is professional and helpful. My boyfriend and I wanted a nice Fourth of July weekend. But instead of enjoying a relaxing day at the pool, we felt like it was a public swimming hole with too many children. Kids had taken over the roof top pool in very large groups! It looked like a middle school field trip, with no where to swim or relax. The 1 or 2 parents present had at least 10 kids with them. It was the worse for the holiday. These were not families with their kids, it was very large groups of kids that took the pool over until it closed. There should be rules for kids swimming in the pool after hours with a bar and alcohol being served! Kids are NOT allowed inside of bars serving liquor and they should NOT be around a rooftop pool with a bar after a certain time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I selected the hotel for a weekend getaway. We splurged on the a suite only to be told we would not be able to get into our room until after 8:00 p.m. Hotel attempted to compensate but upon entering our suite the roses I had arranged to have waiting were not there and instead we had a gift basket for someone else and our bags were nowhere to be found.

Day two - after the cleaning crew used napalm on the carpet I wasted $75 bucks at gift shop on candles to cover up the smell. It finally become overwhelming we closed off one of the rooms to slow the smell. When I called with the problem they sent someone up with an aerosole scented spray. Next day they moved us to a new suite -- same smell just less intense and dirty.

Half the staff were wonderful and accommodating. Half the staff seemed lost or confused. Odd contrast.

Many better options for the money.

We stayed the next two nights at the Joule. Less pricey and a million times nicer. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Only book a suite above the 10th floor. Otherwise the view is of astroturf.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bri B, Manager at Omni Dallas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am truly sorry to hear we had a negative impact on you and your wife’s weekend getaway. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you what Omni is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel handled our 3,000 student conference very well. Our room type requests were honored, and even though our rooms had to be rearranged upon arrival (5 rooms in close proximity), the front desk staff handled this with ease and professionalism. Sal at the front desk was especially helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Joel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Every single employee we encountered at the Omni hotel was extremely helpful, so gracious and just made us feel so welcome even with us invading the hotel with thousands of teenagers. The hotel is beautiful inside and out, just an absolutely wonderful experience.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hogwildcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay there so I cannot comment on the rooms, but we walked around quite a bit. They are doing some expansion which I think will be great. The lobby etc were modern and very clean. Huuuge. It is attached to the convention center. We ate lunch at the Sportsbar on the main floor, and while it was not in the best condition and could use new chairs, and nicer settings, tables etc., the food was really good! I had the Cobb salad, which is deconstructed but very very tasty. My partner had the Cowboy burger, and the brisket was plentiful and very tasty. With a minor refreshing, this place would be excellent, but the food is definitely worth the visit.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank GRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#23 of 205 in Dallas
4,022 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 205 in Dallas
2,042 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#10 of 205 in Dallas
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#19 of 205 in Dallas
2,641 reviews
Hilton Anatole
#34 of 205 in Dallas
3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Dallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Dallas Hotel

Address: 555 S Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $189 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Dallas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Dallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing