We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Omni Dallas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Dallas Hotel
Ranked #5 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Very Nice!!.comfortable beds roomy and very clean only dislike is u have to pay for parking..workers are very friendly and helpful pool was nice hust a all around good experience we will go back there any time were in dallas area..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawtysantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,777
    1,079
    330
    150
    127
See reviews for
867
1,374
153
3,458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really, really wanted to like this hotel. I am normally not one to complain and very easy to please, but as someone who worked in customer service for about 10 years, I was horrified at the the staff behaved and the way management handled things when problems came up. Let's start with the positive: the hotel is chic, clean and has a great sports bar.

The problems with staff began early, when my sister (who was sharing my room) discovered most of the lightbulbs were burnt out in our room. It took about 45 mins for "engineers" to come fix the problem. We went to the pool bar, where the bartender ignored us and refused to wait on us. We had just driven in and weren't dressed up yet, so he focused on the group of cougars next to us who were dressed to prowl. After about 15 mins of no service, we gave up and went to buy wine at the gift shop. There was a horribly rude, homely girl working at the gift shop. We were trying to decide whether to buy wine since the cheap openers were priced at $8 (ridiculous) and the girl rang it up anyway and just kept repeating "THAT WILL BE $_____" in an annoyed, condescending voice. We hadn't even decided if we wanted it or not, then the other girl who was nice opened the wine for us so we didn't have to pay the additional $8.

The biggest, worst problem of all occurred the next day when it was time to leave. The parking attendant told me I had to pay with credit card when I handed her cash for parking. Then the machine ate my card. No one seemed to think this was a big deal, but I had to get my friend to the airport in 2 hours. The first "manager" who came down was of no help. He just stared at me like I was stupid for being upset about my card being stuck. I had to ask him for an apology. 45 mins later, another manager came out and apologized and offered us snacks from the gift shop. She assured me that I would not be charged for parking and that my card would be retrieved shortly. About 30 mins after that, I got my debit card back and we raced to the airport. On the way out of town, I tried to get gas and guess what? My card's magnetic strip was ruined and wouldn't read. Thankfully I had enough cash to get home.

It gets worse.....when I got home, I checked my bank statement and saw parking charges and an additional $15+ charge. I waited a few days thinking it would clear. When it didn't, I called and a manager was supposed to call me back and didn't.....so I called back. Eventually I finally got a girl who had been trained in customer service who saw the notes on my account and told me I had "accidentally" been charged by the gift shop girl for the "complimentary" snacks when my card was stuck in the machine. She was not able to help me and two phone calls later, I finally spoke to a manager who removed the charges.

Maybe this was a freak accident that all this went wrong, but I did not appreciate the way the staff handled it like it was no big deal. I will avoid all Omni hotels after that horrible experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystalAnn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were there for 3 days for a small group meeting. It was our first time to Dallas. Hotel is modern and well maintained. Rooms and beds were comfortable. Restaurants and lounges were nice, food was good and wait service was attentive. The downside was that there was a large convention in the hotel and the bars and restaurants were packed and waiting for a seat was a bit painful. But by far the biggest disadvantage was that there isn't much nearby to walk to so we were somewhat limited. Would need a car or have to take taxis for any other restaurants. Next time I would rent a car at the airport. The taxi one-way is between $50-60.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FallbrookTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Omni is a new hotel located on the edge of downtown Dallas and is very convenient to the Reunion Tower and the AA Center. It's LEED certified and very attractive. The room was very clean, comfortable and modern. Loved the bathroom and the TV!!! The layout of the conference floor is a little confusing and folks had trouble finding some of the break-out rooms. The hotel is a little removed from the rest of the world; so you have to take a taxi or walk a long way to get to restaurants, bars, etc. Other than that, a very pleasant stay. The views are stunning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip and was impressed with the room and facilities.
The room was spacious with 2 queen beds, lots of pillows and a roomy bathroom with TV in the mirror!

The gym had a lot of equipment, open 24 hours a day with free headphones.

The restaurants served great food, the buffet style lunch eaten outside was perfect and staff attentive.

Only drawback was the very slow service at the conference lunches, however they were trying to serve 1100 people and its some distance to the malls (taxi ride away rather than walking distance).

Would recommend.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineelf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for first time, service was great. The atmosphere and location cannot be beat. Our room had view of downtown and the night skyline view was out of this world. Room was very comfortable. The outside pool area is really neat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cierarosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
1,059 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Adolphus
#18 of 203 in Dallas
2,597 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#19 of 203 in Dallas
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Dallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Dallas Hotel

Property: Omni Dallas Hotel
Address: 555 S Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Dallas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Dallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing