We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies @ Lockharts”

Lockhart Smokehouse
Ranked #9 of 145 Quick Bites in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We are located in the Bishop Arts District. It is a popular area of Dallas, which can make parking a challenge. Valet is available for the neighborhood
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Had an enforced layover in Dallas enroute to Mexico. Got to the hotel after a fifteen hour flight from Sydney, tired and not in the best smelling state and real hungry. So a nice hot shower...change of clothes and downstairs to get a cab.

Ask the guys at the front door who has the best ribs in Dallas? Unanimous!!! Ya gotta go to Lockharts. Got us...driver...to Lockharts.

Step out of the cab and what is that I can smell? Smokehouse cooking wafting over the street...let me at it!!! In the door and the lineup to order obviously tells us that this is a local favourite. The dream odours from the kitchen outback just promises so much to look forward to. A short wait...grumbling tummies...and we get to the counter. We've been over the order board mentally fifty times and eaten every thing a hundred times we're that hungry.

Rapid fire order of brisket, ribs, shoulder clod, burnt ends and a large slaw. All wrapped in butchers paper and back to grab a table. A bit of a wait here but tables turnover reasonably quick and everyone cleans up and leaves a nice clean place to sit for the next peeps in. There's a guy playing covers up front who's pretty good with a tune and we unwrap and rip in. How good is everything? and I do mean everything...MAGIC. Every portion of protein is cooked to perfection. We all agree that the ribs are the best we have chewed on anywhere but that is not to say the other cuts are substandard. They are brilliant too its just when you latch your chompers on good ribs they're hard to beat.

Any Aussies stopping in Dallas...get yourself to Lockharts. You'll be talking about it too.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussielifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 852 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Well you wouldn’t call it a glamorous place but it’s definitely a great experience and has great BBQ.

You order from the back, and the meat is wrapped in butchers paper and then you go to the front to find a table, grab a beer and load up on sauces.

The coleslaw had an unexpected spicy kick, but we like a little heat so was yummo.

Meat is charged by the weight so for those of us not from BBQ country, be careful how much you order.

Good range of craft beers as well which was a plus.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Webbymade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

We had no idea what to expect - and we were overwhelmed by just how good the food here was.
Upon entering, we were directed to the "back" where we ordered our;
1) Smoked Brisket
2) Jalapeno sausage
3) Traditional sausage

These were sliced and wrapped in paper, and we were given 2 slices of bread.....and found a table.

After that, y'all have to go there y'self and eat the food - Simply superb!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Well, spent $16 on an Uber to get to the restaurant after hearing good things and there’s a sign on the door (in market on a piece of cardboard) that they’re closed for a private party! At least 3 groups got out of Uber’s to see that they were closed while we were waiting for our next Uber. Not a classy move by a popular restaurant. Will not try it again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ROCUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill B, Owner at Lockhart Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

The closing was posted on our social media channels all week. How sad that you didn’t take the opportunity to walk around the neighborhood to visit some of our other neighbors, it’s one of the best dining neighborhoods in Dallas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

rustic setting and excellent smoked turkey. i did enjoy the sides also. now, other things, tough parking, first time visit and all we got from cashier, after we sent someone to find him, was all ala carte. so we figured out sides and told another employee what meats we wanted to try. cashier was aready on his cellphone? brisket was served tepid and was a bit dry-good thing they have tasty sauce. wasnt cheap so low on the value scale. so many bbq places to try in the area. oh, and when they ran ccard theres a place for tip?????

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lockhart Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Lockhart Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing