We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont get fat at this place”
Review of Komali Restaurant

Komali Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Komali Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #411 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fitzhugh
Description: Komali in Nahuatl, the Aztec language, means Comal, the griddle were Mexicans cook their tortillas. Komali serves a menu of Regional and Modern Mexican Cuisine. Komali serves hand-made tortillas, fresh salsas, great seafood and meat dishes.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
242 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You wont get fat at this place”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The restaurant is bright and glitsy. The tamarind margaritas are good because they rim the glasses with a salt & hot chili powder combination. Good but not worth the $10 per drink. I had the ceviche to have with my margarita and both were a three sipper. The main entre was fajitas and could easily satisfy the calorie requirement on the strictest of diets. While everything was tasty both I and my business associate left hungry and headed for MacDonalds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonJancauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch in Dallas”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you're looking for a Sunday brunch with a never ending buffet where you can eat yourself silly, this is not it. But it is great if you're a foodie who appreciates a modern twist on Mexican cuisine in a tucked away location. Food was fresh and yummy. Decor was OK but we were kept amused by the locals who seemed to spend their leisurely Sunday mornings dining there. Beware the Chipotle Bloody Mary - it's a deal but so hot you can't drink more than one!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow service small portions”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went here on a recommendation from a friend. The place on first arriving is very noisy and busy for a Wednesday night. Took a long time to get our food and beverages ordered. When food arrived it was the smallest portions I have ever seen at a Mexican restaurant. The food tasted fine but for the price I would go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJESeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not for brunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

There were seven of us for bruch. The menu had good selections but all of us choose egg dishes. They delivered them at the same time but all were coldand the kitchen was very slow. We were the 2nd group of people in the restaurant after opening that morning too. Server kept forgetting items and orders and had to come back and forth. Cold eggs are awful! Service was slow. Also, $12 for 2 poached eggs, fried 'breakfast' potatoes and black beans seems steep.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexico City Mexican and Tex- Mex.....”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We went here on a Friday night for a little Mexican Food Fix while in this neighborhood. It was such a lovely treat. I am familiar with this Chef and his other restaurant, Salum, but had not dined here yet. We were able to walk in and get seated fairly quickly for a Friday night.

We ate fairly lightly. Shared the best guacamole we have both ever had! It was so fresh and creamy and the chips were homemade and able to hold up under the dipping. He had the Ceviche (which he said was some of the best in town) and I had the Posole. Great Posole is hard to find in Dallas and they did not disappoint!

Last but not least --- the Margaritas were tasty, and strong and unique. For once there was actually enough tequila in a 10 dollar Margarita in Dallas. Strong but well flavored.

No dessert for us. The service and food were outstanding. It was very, very loud in here at 9 pm. So if you are wanting to have some intimate conversation over a late dinner--- this is not the place. Come in during the week or sit at the bar. The dining room gets very loud. OVerall- we will would come back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLHDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komali Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Komali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing