We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Really Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenny's Italian Kitchen

Kenny's Italian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Kenny's Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,524 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montfort
Description: Kenny’s Italian Kitchen serves classic "Southern Italian American" food modeled after the "Little Italy" sections of Boston and New York. These Italian American styles of veal, chicken and seafood will include Parmigiana, Picatta and Marsala. Of course Kenny's Italian Kitchen wouldn't miss out on the classic meatballs, sausage & peppers or linguini & clams to name a few. Kenny’s Italian Kitchen is decorated with red checkered cloth table cloths, dark woods and the walls are adorned with black and white photos of friends, family and regular guests. A cozy patio and full service bar accompany the warm, friendly and comfortable atmosphere. You will swear you just dined at a neighborhood Italian joint in the Northeast.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Really Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were looking for a new place to try for lunch and found Kenny's Italian. The place was clean, attractive and welcoming. The menu was relatively short, but covered all the bases, The server was bright, cheerful, and knowledgeable. They have a variety of appetizers, salads, and entree's. Only three pizzas were on the menu, so I'm guessing that this is not a main attraction. The veal masala was delicious, as was the eggplant parmesan. Both were served with a perfect spaghetti side. Portion size was "just right." No leftovers, but we had enough. Pricing was average for this quality.

We would definitely return and bring friends,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    78
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went on a Friday night, about 8:30. The hostess told us that it could be as long as 30 minutes for a table, but we were pleasantly surprised when I was more like 10 -15 minutes! The restaurant is casual, but attractive. The menu offered LOTS of wonderful options. I had the Tilapia Piccatta. It was cooked perfectly, and was delicious! One of my dining companions ordered a martini, and it was generous-sized serving. Further, about halfway through the cocktail, the waiter brought him a chilled glass into which he could transfer his remaining cocktail! That is excellent service! There were four in our party, and everyone loved their selections.

Not that the restaurant has any control over this, but the parking in Village on the Parkway can be a little tricky on Friday and Saturday nights because it is a very popular weekend hot-spot. So plan your time accordingly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
736 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Have to get the bruschetta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you're looking for good Italian food in Dallas Kenny's is it. The bruschetta is what keeps us coming back it's always so fresh & delicious!

And for all of the martini lovers out there don't miss their almost freezing vodka (on tap!) & their wonderful hand stuffed olives!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh tomato mozzarella salad large entrees to share!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited Kenny on a Tuesday night and it was quite busy. As we looked around and saw the size of the entrées my husband and I decided to share a salad and one entrée which ended up being very satisfying. The waiter was kind enough to offer to split the orders and plate them before serving so we didn't have to do this at the table. We had calamari as a shared appetizer with our friends which was a generous serving for 4, enjoyed the tomato and fresh buratta mozzarella salad along with the veal saltimbocca. Everything was prepared beautifully and the service was fast but not rushed. We would definitely return and encourage reservations since even on weeknights they are busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mine not so special but rest of family yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Waitress raved about the Oso Bucco so I ordered it while rest of family ordered pasta dishes. My dish was fine but not memorable, but I tasted the others and they were yummy! Maybe that's what I get for not going with initial intent of pasta dish. Helpings were plentiful. Waitress was un memorable. Table for 4 was small and dishes/etc were crowded. Recommend reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenny's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kenny's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing