We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really cool, whether seen driving past or if you stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pioneer Plaza

Pioneer Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.04*
and up
Dallas Sightseeing Segway Tour
Ranked #13 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Really cool, whether seen driving past or if you stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We first saw these sculptures when we were driving somewhere downtown. It's a clear view from the street when you're stopped at a traffic light, and seemed like something that was very "Texas" to a first-time visitor.

Later, we encountered them up close on the free Public ArtWalk, and were even more impressed. Each of the cattle are bigger than real life and have great detail. The sense of motion using the geography is really well done, as is the incorporation of water into the display.

This is a cool thing to visit if you like art, and I can imagine kids would absolutely love it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    182
    41
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
972 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Massive group of bronze statues depicting a cattle drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pioneer Plaza is a 4.2 acre park with an amazing grouping of 70 cattle and three riders on horseback going down a hill, past a nice waterfall and crossing a stream. The grouping depicts the cattle drives that came through Dallas on the Shawnee Trail - the eastern most cattle driving trail. It is a must-see if you are in downtown Dallas - and it is free!

It is remarkable to walk among these very large, life-sized longhorns and riders, many in very interesting poses as they hike down the hill, cross the small stream and move on past.

Tip: In order to see all of the pieces, there is some "hiking" involved as the most convenient paths are across the stream on large, but not smooth stepping stones. One must then walk up a small hill to see the top-most sculptures (or walk father along the back of the arrangement.) Bear this in mind if going with anyone with movement disabilities.

I very much enjoyed seeing it and intend to take friends who visit Dallas in the future to see it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always on my Dallas tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

When I have friend or family visit me in Dallas I always take them to Pioneer Plaza. The cattle drive statues are nice. You can walk around the area as there is a hill and stream. A history plaque that is on a rock but hard to read is there to provide a little history. It is also close to the JFK Memorial so I usually go to JFK Memorial first and then to Pioneer Plaza. You won't stay long unless you decide to watch the tourist climb all over the statues which isn't supposed to be done. It is free to visit and has free parking. Although on busy weekends it might be hard to find parking. Also, no bathrooms available.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan101520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This incredible breath taking sculpture is huge and a 'must see' for everyone but especially art lovers. It has to be seen to be believed with the cattle coming down the hill and even crossing a small stream under the watchful eye of three cowboys. Visitors are also allowed to wander between the statues so you can appreciate the grandness. Also a great photo opportunity of something very different.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Easy walk from downtown and free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Several reviews before this are confusing this with Founders Plaza near JFK Memorial. This is about 7 blocks away situated on Young St in front of Dallas Convention Center beside Pioneer Park Cemetary. A very clever group of sculptures that are over a hilly knoll and pond to create a very realistic sculpture cattle drive in bronze. A great sight and great photo opp. Small parking lot at site on Young will suit the 15-30 minutes needed to explore and photo this and cemetary or 15 minute walk from Main St downtown.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pioneer Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing