We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Convention Center hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Dallas Downtown
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect Convention Center hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My son and I had a terrific stay here last weekend. He had a fencing tournament at the convention center, and I needed to have a couple of business meetings while he was fencing. Our "Ultra Savvy Suite" at this hotel was perfect. The hotel is just one block from the convention center, so my son was able to walk there and back on his own while I met with a colleague in the "office" of my room (a separate area with a large table).

Everyone at this hotel was super friendly, from Chris (with a great sense of humor that put us at ease instantly upon check-in) to Jesse and Justin (who efficiently confirmed my points arrangement) to the cheerful staff members who asked how the fencing went, etc., greeting us by name (a small but very nice touch). My only worry prior to booking was that there is no restaurant, but the service, quality, and selection at the snack bar was excellent and the prices were reasonable. We've booked to stay there again for next month's tournament!

Note: I gave Sleep Quality only 4 stars because, though the King bed is ultra comfortable, the sofa bed is...well, sofa bed quality. It would be really great if some of the suites could be made available with a more substantial mattress, or a King bed and a regular double bed, or 2 double beds (while still maintaining the office and also the living room feeling of the second bedroom). My only other complaint (very minor) is that the office area could use a brighter light...but these are very minor things, and we were extremely pleased overall with our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njjanetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    180
    86
    46
    33
See reviews for
57
104
40
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

PLEASE READ!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

I stayed at this hotel with another couple on New Years and it was the absolute worst experience of our lives. To start the front desk rep. asked us for our social security number after copying down every other scrap of information we own. When we asked why he needed it he only said that he suddenly didn't. He then gave us the wrong room 3 different times! We ordered one of the "Deluxe Ultra Savvy Suites" and 3 different times he tried to put us in a different room. It took the assistant GM to finally get the room right. Then they refused to let us pay in cash.

Later that night a fight broke out in the hallway outside our door. Someone began wildly knocking and when we open the door some woman rushed into our room assaulting people. It was madness. We had NEVER seen anything quite like it. The police and security conveniently never found the perpetrators and we then asked to leave the hotel because we didn't want to stay in that dump another minute. At checkout the front desk rep. named Carly informed me there would be no charges placed on the room and that because there were no charges there was therefore "nothing to sign". I asked her to check and double check and the answer remained the same. Three days later our card was charged for the account. I called the hotel and the assistant GM April then told me shed get it resolved and that she'd call back within an hour. Three hours pass and I go up to the hotel only to be greeted by a rude and inconsiderate man named Scooter who is supposed to be the GM and owner. This awful man proceeded to accuse us of never leaving the hotel and refused to refund the charges.

DO NOT STAY HERE!! THEY WILL ROB YOU AND LIE TO YOUR FACE!

In addition, the two bedroom rooms have completely transparent showers, there are cards in the room advertising that the hotel provides amenities that they don't! When we asked the front desk they had no idea what we were talking about. When we brought them down the card saying that the hotel would provide these things, they simply stood there took the card and claimed that they were just out.

IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND RUDE AND AWFUL ATMOSPHERE THEN THIS IS CERTAINLY THE PLACE YOU SHOULD GO.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Apedesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

this was a wonderful hotel in downtown Dallas ! the rooms were new, exciting , and comfy; the bar is only open in evenings and the specialty drinks were fantastic ! the bar menu is limited but good food! there is a little pre-made food bar in the morning, nothing was great there but if your in a hurry- go for it ! it is directly across from all government building , so if you have a meeting there...this is the place to stay ! what a gem for the price !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kataTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

A hidden gem in downtown Dallas. The service was impeccable, the rooms very trendy and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The Aloft is walking distance to most restaurants and convenient to most downtown destinations.
The only negative was the heating/air conditioning system in the rooms that was difficult to control. All employees were very responsive to all our needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Aloft in downtown Dallas. A young, chic and excellent place to stay. From the time we were greeted by the receptionist to the time we checked out, our stay was pleasant and relaxing. The lobby was fun and inviting. Big pool table. A wonderful area to socialize. It offers wifi for those business travelers and a great bar area to relax. It was nice to see how the architects used the existing structure (old brick wall, industrial height ceilings) to incorporate the high end amenities. Once in our room we were met with a huge flat screen TV, great and comfortable bed (goose down comforters, great pillows, soft sheets,need I say more) and we particularly loved the bathroom. Such clever and functional placement of things, For example, the shower had the shampoo/conditioner dispenser. No more wrangling with a tiny bottle of shampoo where you lose the top right off the bat. The shower had great water pressure and heated up fast. Just hanging your clothes was cool! The tiered contraption that came out from the wall was something I had never seen before. Huge windows that face no one so you can walk around with whatever you want on. Huge mirror! We walked outside to catch the elevator and noticed a room that you could use for meetings. Downstairs you can grab coffee, latte, fruit and a whole list of yummy things. We grabbed a coffee, paid a very nice person and were on our way. Next time we are in Dallas, we are definitely staying there!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Neat room, not typical rectangular generic hotel room. Felt more like an apartment. Area was pretty quiet compared to nearby hotels. For the most part I felt safe walking nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auserinlexky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooteryates, General Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Hello Auserinlexky!!!

Thanks so much for your kind compliments about your recent stay at our Aloft Dallas Downtown!! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post the review.

Wishing you the very best this Holiday Season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

If you are looking for some place different this is your place. Not the standard chain hotel, you feel special here. Loft style with high ceilings, modern furnishings and a great location. Would go back in a minute.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NHT2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooteryates, General Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Hey NHT2009,

Thanks so much for the great review!!! So nice to hear you would come back as well.

From all of our talent here at the Aloft Dallas Downtown, we wish you the very best this Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dallas Downtown

Property: Aloft Dallas Downtown
Address: 1033 Young St, Dallas, TX 75202-4807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dallas Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Dallas Downtown is a vibrant, loft-inspired hotel, conveniently located near City Hall, the Dallas Convention Center, American Airlines Center, and Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Dallas Downtown Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing