We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, drinks, and atmosphere”
Review of Capital Pub

Capital Pub
Ranked #1,757 of 3,600 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dallas, Texas, USA
2 reviews
“Good food, drinks, and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you're looking for a comfortable low-key place to have a drink with friends in Dallas, Capital Pub is the perfect venue. The drinks and food are consistently good and the service is nice as well. They have one of the best patio's in Dallas with comfortable picnic tables and plenty of fans and misters to keep everyone cool. When the weather's nice, you can enjoy a drink outside and good people watching as they visit different bars and restaurants on Henderson street.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun place - good food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

So much is good so I'll start out with my sole criticism - parking is terrible, This area of Henerson has way too much development for the amout of parking available. Still, you can valet nearby and that is your solution. Now for the good - it has a great porch for people watching, the beer selction is very good and I really enjoyed the food. Inside it has a wonderful clubby - almost european, atmosphere with a couple of dart boards. Put up with the valet and go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunningBeer1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Capitol Pub, not Capital Food!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Firstly, this pub spells its name as Capitol Pub and not Capital Pub per TA. Secondly, go for the large selection of great beer and cider but don't waste your time eating here, there are way too many other decent food places in Henderson, Dallas that we could see brimming with people.
We went for lunch on 4/14/12. The Hamburger was pale (looked more boiled than broiled) bland and not cooked medium per our request, the burger bun was not toasted. It came with some raw onion slices which looked past their prime, old and stale. I had the BCLT (a BLT with special cheddar), it was cold and the only thing you could taste was the cheese. It was supposed to be served with a smoked tomato ranch dressing on the side which in retrospect may have helped with the flavor but this was not provided. Our friend ordered a special home made vegan burger, she ate half, it looked like green mush. She said the texture was weird and offered us a taste to which we both hurriedly declined!
All sandwiches were stated as served with fries, soup or salad, but the menu did not state that the fries were garlic fries, which they were, lots of raw garlic and parsley throughout, however they were almost hot and as we like garlic not a big deal especially as it was the weekend, a work lunch may be another story.
Service was average, slow at times for drink refills and for the price, not worth it. Beer and cider lists were huge, and international choices were good, they have strongbow cider on tap (UK) and also a pear cider (CA) that was available in the bottle. The staff were friendly. Food…rubbish!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portchygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice place (but I had no food)”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I cannot comment about the food, as I was here about the drinks.
I find it a nice place. Reasonable music, nice service. Good to hang out with friends or colleagues. It's relatively quiet. Had here two cocktails - whipped cream vodka and chocolate raspberry vodka - both worth trying.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Was great pub food at inexpensive prices. Food quality has deteriorated.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capital Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing