We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, great side dishes”

Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 3,578 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Inwood Road
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, great side dishes”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I understand this was rated Dallas' best restaurant and I can see why.The waiter was extremely attentive, suggesting a perfect wine complement to our meal. We started with a spicy sausage and honey crisp apple flatbread (they offer several), and a cerviche, which were perfect appetizers for four diners. The side dishes are wonderful - we had the creamy Three Jack and Mac casserole (probably the best I've ever had) and roasted Brussel sprouts (yes, awesome Brussel sprouts). They have fish specials every day and special cerviche offerings each day of the week. The banana split dessert was divine. Pretty decent beer list with offerings from Ballist Point and Firestone Walker, not just your typical Shiner selection. The wine list is extensive.The atmosphere is intimate. A nice change from the chains of Dallas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrashcatMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“2nd Time at NS and will be back for a 3rd for sure”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a nice restaurant. Have enjoyed both times so far and will say the 2nd was better than the first. We enjoyed the sausage apple flatbread and grilled artichoke that were very good. The crust on the flatbread is done so well, soft with a nice crunch. We split the Flank Steak with Frittes and a butter peppercorn sauce on the side. The sauce is so good. Flavorful with a nice touch of "heat." Not a burn your taste buds off, just a nice delayed heat. Have a few more dishes that we would like to try and hope we can have the strength to try something else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfwsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fabulous food & service! Love being able to make a reservation, and even happier that they held it for us while we battled downpour and traffic to get there. Blackberry Smash is a not-too-sweet bourbon drink that takes the edge right off the transportation troubles. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly (and adorable); his favorite menu item, steak frites, was among the best I've ever had. We were tempted to take my straw and use it to slurp up the rest of the peppercorn sauce that accompanied both the appetizer meatballs and the steak, but since we were in Dallas, we thought we should use our good behavior. My husband's veal schnitzel & black pepper spetzel was very good, but it will be the steak frites that we order again. Butterscotch pot de creme is molasses-y, brown buttery goodness (you will want an espresso to balance it, and you're in luck because their espresso is just right with a large lemon peel). If we lived in Dallas, I would have a hard time going anywhere else for date night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiredtravelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located in a strip center, the outside doesn't look like much, but inside the food is great, the service is top notch, and it's hopping. Drinks were well made, menu options offered a wide variety of dishes covering meat, fish, chicken, and some vegetarian options. A little spendy at $50 per head, but the food made the price worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MotoTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Dining”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First timers cause they now take reservations - hurray! Low key, very casual dress, tightly packed tables and very competent waiters and the visible chef on the floor. Ceviche with peaches and shrimp a real winner and beautiful presentation. Brisker flatbread was really yummy and a great starter. The watermelon gazpacho was so a great take on the tomato version. A little too sweet for my tastes but my husband loved it! I had the redfish paired with couscous and my husband had the scallops with the tomatoes, polenta and chorizos. We shared the pot de creme dessert which was just wonderful! My only surprise was sitting next to another table with two under 5 y. o. kids, so be prepared that there will be kids around.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing