We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BUT”
Review of Dallas Zoo

Dallas Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #27 of 253 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoological experience in Texas, the 106-acre Dallas Zoo offers fun, educational and entertaining experiences for the whole family. The Zoo's mission is to inspire a passion for nature and conserve wildlife, and guests can see a number of endangered species and learn about a variety of conservation projects the Dallas Zoo supports. Opened in 2010, our award-winning Giants of the Savanna habitat is internationally known. The savanna features elephants, ostrich, zebras, impalas, giraffes, and guineafowl, often mingling together. The Dallas Zoo is home to a herd of five female elephants and 11 giraffes, which guests can feed by hand. Guests will see the fastest land mammal on Earth, the cheetah, as well as African lions who often spend their days sleeping just inches away from the viewing wall inside the Serengeti Grill restaurant. The Wilds of Africa area features rare animals such as gorillas, chimpanzees and okapi. Guests will enjoy getting eye-to-eye with African penguins as they swim effortlessly underwater. Highlights of the ZooNorth section include the Lacerte Family Children's Zoo, a top-rated reptile and amphibian complex featuring albino alligators, and the Koala Walkabout, featuring the only koalas in Texas, red kangaroo, wallabies, and a lorikeet feeding area for up-close adventures. For alternative transportation to the Dallas Zoo, consider the DART Red Line, which delivers guests to the Zoo's front entrance.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Fort Worth is better!!! I did enjoy our visit. There were lots of hands on things for the kids which was fun but the fort worth zoo is better. 10 fold!

Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for the five star review. it's great that North Texas has so many wonderful animal experiences for people to enjoy. We have some exciting additions planned in the near future and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wilds of africa"
in 36 reviews
"train ride"
in 28 reviews
"giraffe feeding"
in 27 reviews
"reptile house"
in 24 reviews
"elephant exhibit"
in 15 reviews
"bird show"
in 24 reviews
"great variety of animals"
in 15 reviews
"big cats"
in 20 reviews
"children's area"
in 30 reviews
"fort worth"
in 31 reviews
"spring break"
in 16 reviews
"carousel"
in 49 reviews
"lettuce"
in 42 reviews
"safari"
in 40 reviews
"enclosures"
in 87 reviews
"savanna"
in 34 reviews
"saints"
in 65 reviews
Filter

1,090 - 1,094 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Dallas Zoo was suffering from a bit of an antiquated layout, but over the past 5 years they have developed an amazing and much more natural environment for the animals and people observing them. They brag the only collective environment in the Americas with Gazelles, Giraffes, Guinea Fowl and Elephants in the same area! I just got out of one of their Board Meetings where they discussed new developments in the Zoo over the next year and they are really impressing me! I love this place!

1  Thank K8eros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments and five star review. This is the only Zoo in North America that exhibits giraffe and elephants together in the same habitat. This happens on select days during the week, typically Friday and Sunday. Guests can call the Dallas Zoo in advance to find out the exhibit schedule for when this unique interaction takes place. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My Girls and I love zoo hopping! The Dallas zoo was hot; minimal shade so I wouldn't suggest it on a hot day. We didn't get to see a lot of the animals because they were either inside or sleep. We were able to still enjoy ourselves. The Forth Worth Zoo in my opinion gets our vote for the best zoo in the Metroplex.

Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Dallas Zoo and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. In the summer months it's best to get here at 9:00 am when the park opens. The weather is cooler and the animals are more active, which creates a much better experience for guests. There is a good chance you will see the tigers, gorillas and chimpanzees exploring their habitats for the first time.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful zoo, it is large however has an easy user friendly layout, designed by zones, clean, a knowledgable helpful staff, so much to see & do. They have a children's zoo, amazing gorilla "trail" and conservation research center, they even have a monorail safari, all in all we had a most excellent time.

Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for the great comments and five star review. We appreciate the acknowledgment of our helpful and friendly staff. We have some incredible animal habitats and pride ourselves in matching the animal experience with our guest service experience. We hope you had a chance to see our new ocelot kitten "Lindy", or perhaps you might see some elephants taking a bath with the new shower system we recently installed at the Giants of the Savanna habitat.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've lived near Dallas for 30 years and never ventured here. I've been missing out. This place is excellent, and my family will be getting a membership soon.

First of all, it is HUGE. You could easily spend a day here and not see everything. There are many different animals, spread out in many very nicely put together habitats.

All the employees we encountered were quite friendly. Much of the zoo is shaded, so even on a hot day, we weren't exhausted by the heat. There are many air conditioned buildings as well.

The Africa area was really neat. Lots of animals you'd expect to see. And great viewing areas. Our favorite part was the children's zoo. This area is perfect for young kids. My 6 year old son could have stayed in this part all day. A really cool water feature that kids can play in, as well as a barn where kids get up close with animals. Even some neat underground tunnels.

Prices aren't too bad really ($12/$9). I would say that's worth it for a day trip for sure. Parking is $8 so be prepared for that. You are allowed to bring in any food and drinks you want, so bring a picnic and snacks and spread out for a nice lunch under any of the beautiful shaded areas. Picnic tables are abundant.

As I said, it is HUGE, so you will walk alot. I highly recommend bringing a stroller for your toddlers.

All in all, a really great place. Glad we finally gave it shot. We'll be back soon.

2  Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for the great comments and five star review. We are the largest Zoo in Texas, and with recent additions like the Giants of the Savanna, Koala Walkabout, and our SOAR bird show, the average stay per guest has climbed more than 3.5 hours. This year we added our Wild Encounters stage where guests can get up close with penguins and other animals, as well as our Safari Express Kids Train. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing