We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yea for needed improvements!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dallas Zoo

Dallas Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #15 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoological experience in Texas, the 106-acre Dallas Zoo offers fun, educational and entertaining experiences for the whole family. The Zoo's mission is to inspire a passion for nature and conserve wildlife, and guests can see a number of endangered species and learn about a variety of conservation projects the Dallas Zoo supports. Opened in 2010, our award-winning Giants of the Savanna habitat is internationally known. The savanna features elephants, ostrich, zebras, impalas, giraffes, and guineafowl, often mingling together. The Dallas Zoo is home to a herd of five female elephants and 11 giraffes, which guests can feed by hand. Guests will see the fastest land mammal on Earth, the cheetah, as well as African lions who often spend their days sleeping just inches away from the viewing wall inside the Serengeti Grill restaurant. The Wilds of Africa area features rare animals such as gorillas, chimpanzees and okapi. Guests will enjoy getting eye-to-eye with African penguins as they swim effortlessly underwater. Highlights of the ZooNorth section include the Lacerte Family Children's Zoo, a top-rated reptile and amphibian complex featuring albino alligators, and the Koala Walkabout, featuring the only koalas in Texas, red kangaroo, wallabies, and a lorikeet feeding area for up-close adventures. For alternative transportation to the Dallas Zoo, consider the DART Red Line, which delivers guests to the Zoo's front entrance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yea for needed improvements!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I’m a native to Dallas and have been to this zoo multiple times, although not as often in the last 10 years. In October 2012 we went for my daughter’s 2nd birthday and experienced all of the upgrades and renovations they've done for the first time. The upgraded Wilds of Africa Exhibit was very impressive. The elephant exhibit is large and natural feeling, and the giraffe enclosure is sunken so you are above or on level with their heads. The platform was manned by a zoo staff member and it looked as though children were able to feed the giraffes? Unfortunately it was a little crowded that day (beautiful weather!) and we weren’t able to get close enough to see. The lions have several viewing bays, one of which is in an air conditioned restaurant with decent zoo fare. We had lunch there on the patio over looking the elephants. Lots of umbrellas stationed around the patio, so even eating out in the sun wasn't too bad. The Gorilla Trail is nicely shaded and has a few spots that you can view the animals from in air conditioned indoor area with couches and looping video information, and the aviary was beautiful. We spent the majority of the day on that side. Pay attention to the times listed on the website and you can catch zoo staff members giving lectures at the enclosures about the individual animals. The Zoo North area is the original side of the zoo, and renovations there have definitely improved the closed off and sad zoo I remember from my youth. We didn’t even make it to the majority of this side, although we made a point to go to the new children’s area. That alone was worth the trip as my daughter loved playing around the stream, and play equipment. It was shaded and a nice place to hang out. A free petting area with goats and a small working barn area with horses and ponies rounded out the children’s section nicely. There was a small aviary there that cost an additional amount that we didn't see, but might next time. We did partake in the SOAR bird show, which was very cute and definitely a must for any aged kid who loves birds. A little cheesy but even as adults we enjoyed it thoroughly, which again, was in the shade! (A VERY important detail in Texas heat!) We’ll need to go back as we didn’t get to the other half of the zoo due to a very tired 2 year old, but overall a brilliant day at a really nicely improved zoo!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We appreciate the detailed feedback and glad you experienced so many of the changes that have been made during the past 10 years. The Dallas Zoo is the largest in Texas and it can be a challenge to see it all in one day. Currently the average stay is about 3 1/2 hours, and with new additions in 2013 (Safari Express Train, Wild Encounters Stage, renovated Galapagos tortoise and giant anteater exhibits), there is even more to experience. Thank you for spending your daughter's 2nd birthday at the Dallas Zoo and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    435
    183
    32
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Many improvements, great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've visited this zoo several times since moving to the Dallas area 4 years ago. When I started visiting, I only had 2 small children (ages 2 and 4). We spent most of our time in the Lacerte Children's Zoo area and it was fine for us. As our family has grown (now we have three kids, ages 8, 6 and 21 months), the zoo has grown and changed with us. We went for the first time in quite awhile today and we were very impressed.

The new Giants of the Savannah area is very nicely done - the habitats are large, the animals appear to have lots of room to roam and there are tons of photo ops. Be sure to pony up the cash to feed the giraffes - it really is an extraordinary experience. :)

The monorail is really the best way to get through the Wilds of Africa. Forget trudging the kiddies through the entire exhibit - get on the monorail, sit back and relax and get your camera ready. The monorail conductor provided tons of great information (and several fun facts/jokes) while pointing out animals and photo ops along the way. This is free for zoo members (at certain levels, I think) but worth the extra fee even if you're not.

We got to listen in to a discussion of turtles and tortoises and the kids got to pet a tortoise during an animal encounter (on the stage just across from the monorail). The two staff members running the show were very engaging and quite knowledgeable. They let the kids ask plenty of questions after their presentation was over and, again, there were tons of opportunities for photo ops.

We stopped for a bite to eat (I packed a lunch but we needed a bit more to round things out) at the food court. While it is pricey, we were able to get very nice side salads filled with a variety of lettuces, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers - much better than the fare at many other kid-centered attractions. The smaller food kiosks were all closed today. They are typically open during the high season but be aware that it is still pretty hot out in the sun even in April, so pack some bottled water or be prepared to hike to either the food court or the Serengheti Grill if you need something to drink.

The restrooms were very clean and easy to navigate with a stroller and all of the walkways are wide, smooth and easily navigable with a stroller and two kiddos tagging along. The zoo is set up in several different sections, making it easy for us to focus on one or two areas each visit. If you plan to see the entire zoo, be prepared to do some walking. Otherwise, if you live in the area (and especially if you have small children), I'd recommend spreading your visit out into a few different trips (membership is currently 10% off, so look into this) and concentrating on one or two areas at a time. Get there at the open and stay for a few hours - it's less crowded and much cooler - you'll be heading out before it gets too hot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank infamousmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and five star review. The new Wild Encounters Stage opened up April 2013 and has been very popular. Glad to hear your family was able to meet some of the animal ambassadors and that our staff was so accommodating. We appreciate your feedback adn look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
718 reviews
540 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Zoo Zings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Dallas Zoo is a treat for all ages. New and improved additions make being a member so worthwhile. Alone or with our grandchildren we have fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the five star review and for being a Dallas Zoo member. We are glad to hear the Zoo is an enjoyable place and a great value for you and your family. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been there a couple of times gets better each visit. Make sure you ride the monorail worth the extra charge. Looking forward to going again this year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cyl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments and five star review. Since your last visit we have added some new improvements. Picnic Ridge, with the Safari Express Train, now sits on the site of the old large mammal building. We renovated our Galapagos tortoise exhibit, are putting the finishing touches on a new giant anteater exhibit, and recently opened our Wild Encounters stage. Here guests can get up-close with our animal ambassadors (penguins, serval cats, porcupines, snakes and other reptiles) and converse with our wildlife staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I went to Dallas for spring break and thought, "You know while we're here, why not take the kids to the zoo?!" so we did and we had so much fun! We loved feeding the giraffes and the animals were everywhere, unlike some zoos I've been to where the animals are out of sight. I loved it and will definitely come back when we're in the Dallas area!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and five star review. We are glad to hear your experience was enjoyable and we look forward to you and your family visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing