We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo with Family”
Review of Dallas Zoo

Dallas Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #15 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest zoological experience in Texas, the 106-acre Dallas Zoo offers fun, educational and entertaining experiences for the whole family. The Zoo's mission is to inspire a passion for nature and conserve wildlife, and guests can see a number of endangered species and learn about a variety of conservation projects the Dallas Zoo supports. Opened in 2010, our award-winning Giants of the Savanna habitat is internationally known. The savanna features elephants, ostrich, zebras, impalas, giraffes, and guineafowl, often mingling together. The Dallas Zoo is home to a herd of five female elephants and 11 giraffes, which guests can feed by hand. Guests will see the fastest land mammal on Earth, the cheetah, as well as African lions who often spend their days sleeping just inches away from the viewing wall inside the Serengeti Grill restaurant. The Wilds of Africa area features rare animals such as gorillas, chimpanzees and okapi. Guests will enjoy getting eye-to-eye with African penguins as they swim effortlessly underwater. Highlights of the ZooNorth section include the Lacerte Family Children's Zoo, a top-rated reptile and amphibian complex featuring albino alligators, and the Koala Walkabout, featuring the only koalas in Texas, red kangaroo, wallabies, and a lorikeet feeding area for up-close adventures. For alternative transportation to the Dallas Zoo, consider the DART Red Line, which delivers guests to the Zoo's front entrance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Zoo with Family”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Dallas Zoo is fantastic. Very family friendly, especially the Children's zoo. My grandkids look forward to going to the zoo at least 3 times a year. Lots of animals in natural settings. Close up views.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. Our Lacerte Family Children's Zoo is a must-see for families with children. Kids can splash in our stream, feed exotic birds, ride a pony or safely interact with our pygmy goats. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    463
    186
    33
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one of the best zoos”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great Zoo with many different areas to visit, great for children, pony rides, petting zoo, gorilla exhibit is unique. African wild is best in the country.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank arcussinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for those kind comments. The Giants of the Savanna habitat is something we are very proud of and continues to be one of the highlights for guests during their Zoo visit, along with the other habitats that have been built and improved over the past 8 years. There are more changes in store for the future. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK...but not great”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having been to the San Diego Zoo, this place cannot compare. It was a very cold day in Dallas so alot of animals were not out and the ones that were looked kind of sad and pretty old. Did not see many staffers and almost all food and drink shops were closed which was strange to me

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We appreciate the comments. Unfortunately as a primarily outdoor experience, sometimes the weather doesn’t cooperate to provide the ideal animal and guest opportunities.
I appreciate your feedback regarding our food and drinks shops and have discussed this with our staff. During normal business hours our main food court in ZooNorth and our Serengeti Grill in the Giants of the Savanna are always open for food and drink purchases. Should you visit again in the future, let me know so we can ensure your experience is a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and fun for families”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The zoo was very clean and the animals appeared to be well cared for. The prices for food were high, but that is to be expected in any park of this kind. We were disappointed to miss out on the larger half of the zoo as it was closed in preparation for a fund raiser, but it gives us an excuse to come back in the future.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. I believe you attended on one of the days leading up to our annual fundraiser "Zoo To Do". On that particular Saturday, we close the entire Wilds of Africa (except for the penguin exhibit) in order to prepare for our largest fundraising event. We appreciate your understanding and enthusiasm for returning in the future. I think you will find the Giants of the Savanna as well as our Gorilla Trail habitats to be very unique. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Dallas' zoo isn't at all famous. I've spent years in Dallas and was only vaguely aware we even had one. That changed this October as I went there with family. I'll definitely be back: this is an awesome zoo, really well laid-out, great variety of animals, and the interpretive materials are really useful. One star off for being pretty expensive - parking alone is $8 (although it does have its own station on the DART red line.)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Treppenwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Vice President Guest Experiences at Dallas Zoo, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. Alot has changed over the past 8 years and more and more people are experiencing the "new" Dallas Zoo. The Dart Red Line comes right to the front gate of the Dallas Zoo so you can save on parking, especially on those busy days in the Spring (and during Dollar Days) when traffic can sometimes get congested. There are more improvements in store and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing