We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dallas Arboretum---8th Wonder Of The World!”

Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #1 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A nationally acclaimed 66 acre display garden features breathtaking floral displays all year long. Nestled on the shores of White Rock Lake, the Dallas Arboretum was rated in 2015 by Fodor's Travel as one of America's Best Spring Flower Festivals. Dallas Blooms festival boasts of over 500,000 spring blooming bulbs, 3,000 azaleas and hundreds of Cherry Blooms-February-April. Summer in garden includes an outdoor concert series on Thursday evenings and breathtaking colors at every turn. Autumn at the Arboretum-September-November features a nationally acclaimed Pumpkin Village featuring over 65,000 pumpkins/gourds/squash and named one of America's Best Pumpkin festival in 2014 by Fodor's Travel. The 8 acre Rory Meyers Children’s Adventure Garden was designed to connect children with nature. Education is a central focus the gardens mission, which teach life and Earth science with 17 indoor/outdoor galleries and 150 interactive activities - Where science and fun become one. Open seven days a week. Seasonal weekday discounts are available. The garden is closed New Year's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dallas Arboretum---8th Wonder Of The World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As a child I traveled all over the world with my family. I saw many "star" attractions & famous gardens, but I must say that the Dallas Arboretum was the most beautiful & spectacular site I have ever seen! Every season there is a different theme! The flowers, plants, trees & the Chihuly exhibit were all beautiful! In some interesting Dallas Arboretum trivia I heard that former President Clinton's brother, Roger got married here, some time ago!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikesBugers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,193
    791
    151
    47
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chihuly exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited the Dallas Arboretum while visiting Dallas and knew the Chiuhly exhibit would be there. It was a beautiful day and really nice to walk around and look at all of the landscaping and glass work together. It is not easy to get to if you don't have rental car but other than that it is worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank damw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chihuly Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a magnificent display of Chihuly's glass work, the colors are bright and each cluster looks great scattered thru the arboretum. still on location thru December, so mark your calendars.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Arboretum is blessed with large grounds, allowing them to do many garden rooms. There are water features, and recently a Chihuly exhibit. I attended during their Fall Festival, and honestly, I was disappointed.

The transitions between garden rooms is good, but the rooms themselves were often unimpressive. The water rooms and sunken or shaded rooms were the best, with many plants looking like an untidy backyard rather than a carefully tended or planned arboretum. The "local plants" area was extremely disappointing, as was the "pioneer area."

There is a wonderful hillside above a small stage, facing over White Rock Lake. This was great.The acoustics were good and the view is wonderful.

I was unimpressed by the Chihuly exhibit. The pieces are very large and te design and coloration is typical of Chihuly, but there is nothing particularly new. My local conservatory has had a standing Chihuly exhibit for several years that seemed far more impressive. The Arboretum chose size over quantity. Sometimes bigger just isn't better.

It was ok, but for the cost ($15 entry fee plus $18 parking) I didn't feel like I got my money's worth

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson MS
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My daughter and I visited the Arboretum & Gardens at her suggestion. This is a fantastic recreational activity for any age. Long meandering paths with every kind of Texas plant imaginable, beautiful vista of downtown Dallas skyline in the distance. Overlooks a large lake with sailboats. Has children's activities and a small gift shop. I'd love to come back to this place in the spring with more of the flowers are in bloom. This would be a fabulous venue for a wedding or wedding reception.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WarmBeachLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing