We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be...”

Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Dallas CityPASS
Ranked #1 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A nationally acclaimed 66 acre display garden features breathtaking floral displays all year long. Nestled on the shores of White Rock Lake, the Dallas Arboretum was named "One of the Most Breathtaking Gardens in the World" by Architectural Digest. Dallas Blooms festival boasts of over 500,000 spring blooming bulbs, 3,000 azaleas and hundreds of Cherry Blooms-February-April. Summer in the garden includes an outdoor concert series on Thursday evenings and numerous water features with breathtaking floral displays. Autumn at the Arboretum-September-November features a nationally acclaimed Pumpkin Village featuring over 90,000 pumpkins/gourds/squash and named one of America's Best Pumpkin festivals by Fodor's Travel. The 8 acre Rory Meyers Children’s Adventure Garden was designed to connect children with nature. Education is a central focus the gardens mission, which teach life and Earth science with 17 indoor/outdoor galleries and 150 interactive activities - Where science and fun become one. Open seven days a week and Wednesday nights until 8pm from March-October. Seasonal weekday discounts are available. The garden is closed New Year's Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to be...”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is more than looking at flowers and plants. The Dallas Arboretum always has special exhibits and activities going on. It is a beautiful setting for a wedding (mine was there) or a photography session. We love the evening concerts in the summer. Throw a blanket on the ground, bring a picnic and enjoy some tunes. It's a jewel of Dallas!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,320
    817
    157
    48
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Chihuly Does it Again”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Years ago, the Dallas Art Museum presented Chihuly's glass art. We were hooked and have traveled throughout the USA and parts of Europe to visit his installations. Can you imagine how thrilled we were to learn Chihuly was returning to Dallas? Then to find the Arboretum was hosting this event? Our daughter's wedding was held on a knoll near the DeGolyer Estate at the Arboretum several years ago, we love this Dallas landmark.

Generations of our family has now toured this exhibit and each of us came away with favorites and excitement as we shared our impressions of this treat.

Dallas, a city of cement in the middle of no where, boasting a world class airport, shopping to satisfy any shopaholic, struggling to keep up with the population growth in roads that are filled beyond capacity. Amazing to be proud once again to call this "home" when I return to share an event like CHIHULY AT THE ARBORETUM. Thank you ONE & ALL for making this happen.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Art_L0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Chihuly Exhibit is a MUST SEE!!!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have seen Dale Chihuly's work before, but this exhibit is absolutely outstanding! The sheer beauty of his magnificent hand blown glass in the direct sunlight with the magnificent Botanical Gardens as the backdrop are just amazing!!! It was so very hot the day we were there, plus I had a broken foot, but I will never regret spending the day there. The placement of the beautiful glass was very thoughtful and makes one truly appreciate the artwork, but also what Dallas has to offer with the gardens.

This is an absolute MUST SEE! Take advantage of it before it is too late. I really wish we could have seen it lit up at night!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChickPosseeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favourite place to visit in Dallas”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great flowers and gardens at the Arboretum, and the spectacular Dale Chihuly exhibition was on when I visited. One minor niggle was the cost... a bit pricey especially if you go alone and drive as you have to pay to park.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank les106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Chihuly is great”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is always a treat to go to see the Arboretum. Nice park with picnic areas, weekly concerts, and the Chihuly exhibit is fantastic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing