We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful theater experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center

Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Dallas Arts District Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #4 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Symphony center in Dallas.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful theater experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We saw Anything Goes which was extremely good. The Meyerson was amazingly lovely and had great acoustics.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    85
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meyreuil, France
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent acoustics and a handsome hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Few Americans know that the Dallas Symphony Orchestra is one of the oldest orchestras in the USA. It has a history of world class conductors and musicians. Constructed in the late 1980s, it was designed by I.M. Pei and the acoustics by Artec, and given to Dallas by Ross Perot's business partner Morton Meyerson. It is one of the best concert halls in the world, and well suits the DSO and visiting orchestras. In addition, the organ is the last and only huge organ designed by the admired C.B. Fisk and with 4,535 pipes. A MUST for classical music lovers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Large and intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The beauty and acoustics of the Meyerson are world-renowned. Walking up the marble stairs curving around to inner circular stairs covered in carpet and finally entering the wood-paneled hall imparts the feeling of luxury and importance. I've sat on the main floor, in the loge, choral terrace, dress circle and grand tier. The choral terrace offers a performer's view of the hall; I could almost follow the music of the musician's and enjoyed watching the conductor. The loge offers more room and a good view, but the chairs are uncomfortable. In fact, all the seats are losing their cushiness. The dress circle allows a good overall view while being enveloped by the sound. Still, my husband and I are quite happy to sit in the last row of the Grand Tier. From there we can see all the musicians and their preparations (switching instruments) and watching the movement of the percussionists and the sound is not diminished. Even the pianissimo of a solo cello reached our ears and held us in its power. While the main floor has a good slope that allows a decent view of the stage (except for the front rows), I prefer any of the other seating areas. This year the season offerings for the symphony did not include the Grand Tier, which meant the price was more and, thus, not as good a value.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
592 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Standing Ovation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Dallas is blessed to have this amazing, world class venue and orchestra and an incredible conductor - Zaap van Zweden to bring the house down! The Mozart series of concerts were simply stunning - book your tickets now - there are ticket prices for all to enjoy! Come early - they often have pre-show entertainment and there is a $5 parking lot one block south of the Meyerson.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World Class Hall with the excellent DSO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hall is excellent but avoid booking a seat in the choral terrace (behind the orchestra) since the stage lights are strong.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing