We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would expect a better memorial.”

John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.69*
and up
Historic Dallas Segway Tour
Ranked #26 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This simple monument to the slain president was built on a plaza adjacent to the Texas School Book Depository building.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I would expect a better memorial.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This memorial was a disappointment to say the least. For a president who had such a big impact on America and died in such a horrible manner I would expect a better memorial. Don't get me wrong, I am sure that the designer of this memorial had his/her heart in the right place. I just wish that there was more to this memorial.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Leesaleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    220
    147
    29
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Historical site”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's strangely moving walking along the grassy knoll and plaza. It's the site of one of the most important historical moments of my lifetime and you can't help (if you are 40 or more and have grown up with these images) but lose yourself in thoughts of "what if" and "why" The sixth floor museum covers JFK's life and presidency and the events of that day, leading to more what ifs -- what if Oswald hadn't been hired at the repository a month earlier, for instance. For anyone interested in history, this is a site to miss if in Dallas. All in all, it's respectfully done but my one criticism: tt's a bit odd seeing people being photographed while standing on the "x" that marks where President Kennedy was thought to be when he was fatally shot. And I wonder if the X is really necessary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“History in downtown Dallas”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a very representative place in downtown Dallas. Part of US history is written right here. The place itself is not so amazing however, historical relevance make this a place to visit in Dallas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hernan_S_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A SAD STORY”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great time going around the museum. It take around 90 minutes with the audio tour.
An expericance not to be missed. A great morning out , not to be missed , for $16 worth every cent .
SAD SO SAD .......RIP JFK

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Peaceful, if you're alone..”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a moving monument. This monument by architect Philip Johnson is very quiet and peaceful, if you aren't approached by a "homeless veteran" asking for money, as I was at most locations I stopped at downtown. It really took away from learning about these important monuments. I know that in the spirit of President Kennedy I should be embracing folks that need help, but it's a little worrisome to be by myself and to be approached so many times like that. But, the memorial is wonderful and you have to see it when you're in Dallas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing