We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dallas World Aquarium

Dallas World Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The adventure at The Dallas World Aquarium begins at the top of the rainforest exhibit, where exotic birds, such as Cocks-of-the-rock and many species of toucans, can be seen. Lounging around are Two-toed and Three-toed sloths. Endangered animals, such as Orinoco crocodiles, Giant river otters, Antillean manatees and several species of monkeys are part of the many conservation projects. The aquarium portion displays interesting marine life, including Japanese crabs, jellyfish, Leafy, Weedy and Ribbon seadragons. Black-footed and Blue penguins can be seen swimming as guests enjoy the outdoor South Africa exhibit. Sharks, rays and sawfish are only a few of the fish living in the Mundo Maya cenote. Safe from Neotropical eagles, are euphonias, tanagers and hummingbirds. Reptiles and amphibians, both of significance to the Maya culture, can be seen throughout the exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Whitesboro, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A very nice attraction with the walk thru aquarium. But the whole thing only takes about 30 minutes on normal walk. Have to go very slow and take a lot of pictures to make it last a couple of hours. Way over priced in my opinion, if your on a budget go somewhere else and or go to a Ripley s aquarium somewhere, its much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaryTracySr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,976
    978
    348
    116
    73
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mason
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stop... especially during cold Weather in Dallas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a primarily indoor experience, although part of the entrance exhibits are covered outdoor experiences and the penguins are outdoors. Levels are arranged similar to layers of rainforest. We began in upper canopy area where we were treated to up close experiences with sloths. (Yes don't let the word aquarium confuse you... this is more of an indoor zoo aquarium experience) We worked our way down through the rainforest in a disorderly way with 4 kids (3 being under 4) Highlights for us were the big cat exhibit and of course the shark tunnel. ( be sure to go during feeding time listed on your aquarium schedule for the day) We spent less than two hours here but longer attention spans could make at least a half day of this.

Helpful?
Thank deankel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Some rare animals and lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We (2 adults) spent a very fun-filled couple of hours here. There is a lot to see, some animals we have never seen before and lots of information to learn. My friend was particularly delighted to see a leafy sea dragon, which she has never seen before and i liked garden eels, those were cute. The particular attraction (well at least to me) are the sloths, who are not in the cage but hanging on the trees just in front of you ;-). I would have given the place 5 stars, but i actually had one huge problem. The jaguar cage. It is not very big at all for the animal plus i don't know what they were thinking but it's made completely of glass and the poor animal had basically no place to hide. There were a lot of people (mostly kids) banging on the glass and the parents who didn't care. I have to tell you that the jaguar looked very disturbed to me. They have to do something about it. Plant some trees or whatever so the animal can at least hide from all the stress. Other then that I can definitely recommend the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonibulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place is not just an Aquarium. It is filled with all types of animals and reminds one of the rain forest inside. We went with our older daughter who is 16 and another couple who has a 5 year old. It was fun and interesting for everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Schultzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“It is a different world inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Tips for parking, there are several parking areas with different pricing around the aquarium. So far the cheapest one should be the one paid hourly if you do not plan to stay there for more than 8 hours. From outside, the aquarium really look like an ordinary building. However, once we were inside, it is a totally different world. I felt like I walked into a forest with the monkeys, the trees and the waterfall. It's amazing! Plenty to look around inside and take note on the shows and feeding time. A great place with young kids.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas World Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing