We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend the day and watch the feedings !”

Dallas World Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 229 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The adventure at The Dallas World Aquarium begins at the top of the rainforest exhibit, where exotic birds, such as Cocks-of-the-rock and many species of toucans, can be seen. Lounging around are Two-toed and Three-toed sloths. Endangered animals, such as Orinoco crocodiles, Giant river otters, Antillean manatees and several species of monkeys are part of the many conservation projects. The aquarium portion displays interesting marine life, including Japanese crabs, jellyfish, Leafy, Weedy and Ribbon seadragons. Black-footed and Blue penguins can be seen swimming as guests enjoy the outdoor South Africa exhibit. Sharks, rays and sawfish are only a few of the fish living in the Mundo Maya cenote. Safe from Neotropical eagles, are euphonias, tanagers and hummingbirds. Reptiles and amphibians, both of significance to the Maya culture, can be seen throughout the exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend the day and watch the feedings !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice mixture of aquatic and jungle creatures. Saturdays they feed the alligators. Nice time with kids


Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rmspataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,013
    989
    352
    118
    76
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool Rainforest Environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

When we first arrived, we were surprised by the unique setup of this aquarium, but walking into the "rainforest" was very cool. We loved the openness and the fact that there were plenty of animals to look at. Very unexpected.

The only reason I am not giving this 5 out of 5, is that we would have liked to see more aquatic life. While having different kinds of animals makes this unique, it's also a little bit of a downfall, as we did pay $20.95 each to go to an "aquarium".

Overall I would say this is definitely worth a visit, especially if you're able to go during the week when it may not be so crowded.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
285 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Many more birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians than fish. Some unique exhibits including a Giant Anteater, a Jaguar, and bats. There is a small group of Penguins out in the back. Overall, it is a nice place to spend a few hours. Typical gift shop. Parking in pay lots in the back. It's a quick drive from Downtown Dallas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have a Fun Time Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I were in Dallas for the weekend and wanted to do something fun. After reading reviews of the Aquarium we decided to go.The place is huge, with a new exhibit around every corner. It's not only a cool aquarium, but it also provides many zoo like animals such as a sloth, many birds and reptiles, a tiger, and monkeys. The fish aquariums were some of the best we have seen, with beautiful lighting and a tunnel you can walk thru while sharks swim around and above you. A lot of great photo opportunities to take. This aquarium is a great place to spend some time at while enjoying all the exotic animals and fish.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank indie_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool looking place, even better inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when I first visited, but I didn't expect what was inside. This place is awesome! It's like a nicer, fancier, AIR CONDITIONED zoo! I HIGHLY recommend taking your kids, or anyone here when it too hot for outdoor activities. The way the aquarium is designed is unique and functional. You travel through the entire place on a path and can go back and forth or as slow as you want, whenever you please! Extremely peaceful and green inside with beautiful plants and animals. No it is not only fish, there are penguins, manatees and sloths. I will be returning soon, best kept secret for an indoor activity on a hot summer day!!!

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas World Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing