We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not overwhelming”

Dallas Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 236 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1903, this prestigious art venue features a wide selection of art exhibits, from Ancient Mediterranean to Contemporary Art and Design.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice but not overwhelming”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The free admission certainly makes this a recommended venue. The staff is very, very helpful. There is a way to earn patron points that will earn you free parking for your next visit. There are certainly some quality pieces to view but I just felt that there is not enough quantity. The visit did not take as long as I had anticipated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    456
    108
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good if You Like Art”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm not all that into art but I enjoyed it for a few hours. Its now free so come as often as you want.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsmetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a great way to spend a few or more hours in downtown Dallas. This museum has a variety of art and sculpture to interest most anyone. There is the Nasher and Crow museums and very nice park just right across the street as well if your inclined to make a day of it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dovhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice way to escape Dallas summer heat”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed our visit and not just to be cool. They have a large collection covering many areas of art-perhaps too many. There didn't appear to be a lot of focus their collection. Nice items to view, but many WOW ones. Would go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WYOfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything I 'like' about museums. Not too big or overdone or crowded. Wonderful range of work so there is something for everyone. Plus, admission is free in the summer months! The JFK installation was very special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing