We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Dallas
Ranked #132 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
lubbock
1 review
“won't be back”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

i used to bring my son the have surgery at med city dallas when it was a doulbetree and a clarion it was good for the money[with a decent breakfast] , but since ramada came in and took it over these people need to go to hotel 101 or something. if they don't want to serve breakfast at least don't advertise it> a bowl of fruit loops omg>>signs at front desk make you uncomfortable, glad i always carry wipes and paper towels > there was no pitcher for coffeemaker well they brought one but the coffeemaker did not work so they knew about it> the electrical for the tv , micro & fridge did not work called desk and they told me it may be unplugged, i guess they are trying to save money i had to plug in myself. a/c did not really cool very well. small roach crawled up on night table around phone i killed it and reported it i don't know if they believed me offered to show it to them it was in trash can >> not even a i am sorry>>not a squeamish person but i was looking around after that wondering if something was going to crawl up on me

Room Tip: no tip can help this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    64
    68
    93
See reviews for
83
42
45
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Recently moved to Dallas and decided to stay here for 15 days before finding an apartment, the deal was “OK” 50 per night, BUT, pictures are extremely photoshoped, yes, they have free WiFi, they DON’T have a restaurant, its closed and has been closed for a LONG time, they have a breakfast service, bread and milk.. If you want eggs, pay 2 dollars… the Hotel is FILTHY literally FILTHY the carpets are stained and rooms are smelly.
I tried to talk to Mr. Oh who runs and owns the Hotel, his attitude was LITERALLY “well you paid 50 dlls, this is what you get, want some fancy hotel, go to a 100 dlls hotel” anyways, I had a LOT of baggage with me so instead of moving out I decided to find an apartment FASTER… which I did, THANK GOD!
Some front desk personnel were nice, Robin Oh (son and Manager of Mr. Oh) is nice, but still they cannot do much, as they say, and I QUOTE them “we are not making money”
Additionally MUST of the guest are long term guest, some people who had friends all the time at nights and were noisy and a couple of more people not very likeable to be around.

Room Tip: If you are JUST passing by, take it as a LAST resort, 1 mile ahead you have a 6 mile hotel which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Clean and comfortable, entire hotel non smoking, "truck parking" easy when I was there, but not much business, which is why the $50 per night rate was in effect, I guess.

They have you sign a seperate agreement that, if you stain the towels you will pay for them, at some ridiculous prices.

Onsite restaurant closed when I was there, and not much within walking distance to eat but certainly doable, Jack in the Box, McDonalds, Starbucks, Subway, CVS, Gas station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verylucrative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

• Sign at the front desk: charge for towels if makeup and other bodily fluids could not be removed during laundering
• room reeked of old cigarettes and filth
• Seating area missing small love seat, there was an arm chair
• New room we were re-assigned to had a view of the roof with bloody gloves and garbage
• Air conditioner dripped liquid the entire night and kept us awake
• Bug bites either from floor or mattress
• Bathroom door warped and kept jamming
• Cleaning service never cleaned our room
• Bar and restaurant were closed during our visit
• Breakfast selection was quite meager and the on both mornings, the ladies attending the breakfast area were quite unpleasant as they unloaded the Wal-Mart brand, Great Value food items.
• Disgusting hotel and we had a horrid stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VA2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I chose this property based upon TripAdvisor reviews and had my expectations adjusted accordingly for a budget experience at $50 per night. On the plus side, the hotel is conveniently located in a city in which car is king ("lonelier than a pedestrian in Dallas" should become a new expression). Staff are very helpful and friendly, for example, a room was not ready when I arrived early and I received a cellphone call just as soon as one was. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, the free WiFi speedy, the included breakfast buffet a nice touch.

On the minus side, there are signs of wear and tear everywhere. In room 114 the upholstery on the arms of the desk chair is frayed and torn. The plastic bathtub surround has a large, crudely repaired crack around the faucet, which is loose. The public hallway carpet has so many stains it's beginning to look like a leopard print.

In sum, come with a "you-get-what-you-pay-for" state of mind and you'll be fine here. Interestingly, the Grand Hotel Dallas (ROFLMAO) just across LBJ Freeway looks just as nice for $40 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chalouisduletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The rooms are very nice,the service was even better! They even give you real eggs in their free breakfast unlike the microwaved eggs at comfort Inn where I paid $25.00 more a night to get less.You won't go wrong here,its close to everything and you will leave remembering you'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have been to soo many hotels ,, in miami ,, new york ,, houston ,, orlando ,, but this hotel was my best hotel experience ,, they charged really low comapring to their quality , service , and location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issa21290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn North Dallas Near The Galleria
0.4 mi away
Studio 6 Dallas-Richardson/North
8.7 mi away
Knights Inn Market Center
Knights Inn Market Center
#137 of 203 in Dallas
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dallas Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - Vantage Point Dr.
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Dallas

Property: Gateway Hotel Dallas
Address: 8102 Lyndon B Johnson Fwy, Dallas, TX 75251-1304 (Formerly Ramada Dallas North)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Hotel Dallas 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and Affordable rooms. Let us show you our hospitality. Come enjoy your stay and leave the rest to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dallas North Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing