We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlie Palmer in the Joule, Dallas”
Review of Charlie Palmer Steakhouse - CLOSED

Charlie Palmer Steakhouse
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Akard
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Charlie Palmer in the Joule, Dallas”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had just finished an exhausting day of setting up and tearing down our trade show booth. Charlie Palmer steakhouse welcomed us with opened arms. The food and company were great, but the service was even better. I have to say that our waitress, Amber, was one of the most graceful, professional servers I have ever experienced... there when you needed her, anticipating everyone's needs and going the extra mile. The front desk even called my room when I left my credit card in the restaurant. Thank you for a great experience, Joule & Charlie Palmer. Thank you even more for your 5 star service, Amber!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danehalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulalip, Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything was absolutely wonderful.Started with shrimp and grits as our appetizer and they were wonderful. For dinner I had the Chicken with Asparagus and Morels, The chicken was perfectly pan seared, aparagus sweet and tender and the morels were perfect! The only thing I would change is to note that when ordering the sides they should indicated that there is enough to serve 3 people adequately. We all ordered sides and there was a lot that went to waste. Our server John, was one of the definite highlighs to our meal. Gracious, warm, welcoming and over the top service. We also went down to the restaurant one other night for desert and coffee. My wife ordered the Peanut Butter Bar and it was beyond description. Lets just say it is a must try. I waivered but I could not resist having the Shrimp and Grits appetizer again, as I may not ever get to have their creamy goodness again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food good but where was the service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Took clients for dinner last week. There were four of us and we had wine, appetizers, salads and dinners. They took our order promptly, served wine etc. Food was excellent however, served too fast and courses too close together. After served all, service disappeared for drink refills and plate clearing. I finally stopped the manager to please send over our waiter. He asked what exactly do I need? I said we wanted some service and plates cleared, he responded by saying 'well you can't wait 2 minutes for your server to get back?" I understand the restaurant business as I worked in restaurants for years and my family owns restaurants so I am patient. However, I was embarrassed to be spoken to like this and it pretty much wiped out the fact that the food was good. I travel for business there are better places in Dallas to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KitKatDenver-Delray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What a Treat at Lunch!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had some time before I had to catch the shuttle to DFW, so I decided to try Charlie Palmer's at The Joule Hotel for lunch. I'm sure glad I did! I was staying at the nearby Magnolia Hotel, which doesn't have a proper restaurant. I had checked out the dinner menu, and it was way too pricey for my company's per diem allowance. The lunch menu, on the other hand, was quite affordable. They offer a three-course, Prix Fixe menu. Salad or Soup, main course, and dessert. All for a very fair $25. Everything was top-notch. I expected the ghost of JR Ewing to show up for a power lunch, though. I was the only gentleman diner who was not wearing a business suit. Do yourself a favor and try this gem for lunch. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Breakfast disaster”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Asked for coffee twice-when it came it was cold. Poor service, felt ignored and the place was not busy. All staff here need customer service training!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spasister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Palmer Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing