We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleased.”
Review of Charlie Palmer Steakhouse - CLOSED

Charlie Palmer Steakhouse
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Akard
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
266 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We were pleased.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved the appetizers on the sidewalk patio (even in December). Dinner in the dining room was good. Price was expensive, so be prepared and just enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Steak, period.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We went up to Dallas just to have a bit of couples time during the X-mas holidays and came across Palmer's as we were walking down Main Street. We had a great meal, the PEI mussels for an appetizer were great. An excellent wine list, and the steaks were wow! This is definitely an underrated steak house and should be in the North American top 10.

Helpful?
Thank Epic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner was good, breakfast not so much”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Ate here while staying at the hotel in which the restaurant is located. Dinner was great with a knowledgeable waitstaff and quality steaks. A bit overpriced though. Ten dollars for sorbet? Really? Breakfast was marginal at best. In two attempts the chef couldn't make proper pancakes (burned on the outside, raw, runny batter in the center). However the staff was professional, attentive and went out of their way to make it up to us. Can't recommend for breakfast, but dinner was decent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KD1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“C Palmer for Lunch”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lunch was excellant and service was great. We ate lunch one day and breakfast the next. Free coffee in the morning and the weather was nice enough to sit on the patio early in the morning to watch the Dallas Marathon runners.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smitty5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
300 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Came to Dallas to visit our son for Thanksgiving. The restaurant is located in an upscale hotel & the restaurant has an appealing, contemporary atmosphere. Although the setting is very nice, that was about all they had to offer. Must say we enjoyed the diverse selection of appetizers, however, the rest of the meal was a big disappointment. Three of us ordered the roast turkey Thanksgiving special and although it was OK, it was served lukewarm at best and the turkey and gravy was overly salty. Our server was pleasant but service was very slow. Bread was not served until we asked for it, drink service was extremely slow and we were offered a dessert menu prior to being offered coffee. Dessert was so disappointing, when the maître came over & asked us how dinner was; we informed him that while dinner was OK, the desserts were just not acceptable for a high end, upscale restaurant. He did remove them from our bill but that is not the point. We spent 4 days in Dallas had all our meals out at various restaurants and this was the only one that wasn’t very good. For 4 people, we could have spent the $300 much more wisely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing