We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A neighborhood joint that doesn't disappoint!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taco Joint

Taco Joint
Ranked #657 of 3,560 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A neighborhood joint that doesn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've been going here since it opened. There is literally nothing bad to say about this place. Amazing beef tacos, great chicken salad, best breakfast tacos in town, chipotle ranch "crack" sauce, huge portions, tasty margs, fast-friendly staff....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crazy menu! Crazy good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Oh. My. Gosh!! I actually ordered way more than even needed just because we wanted to try everything! Loved every one of them! Delicious!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food- great local place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our easy to go to place when I don't feel like cooking dinner. It's has great tacos- great queso, great everything. Everyone is always pleasant. Sit at the bar for great service and hope you get Maggie. She is fantastic!! Very friendly always remembers our names. She knew them the second time we sat at the bar. It gets crowed at dinner. Again, it's a local place for our neighborhood. If you go - go to the Lakewood location. It's open for dinner and has a bar. The other location is packed at lunch. Still amazing - more relaxed at the Lakewood location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great Neighborhood Joint -- In a small strip center, off Gaston Avenue on Peak. Friendly staff, large menu with lots of choices for Tacos and other Tex- Mex items, like burritos, chalupas, enchiladas. To go or eat in. Not expensive and large portions! Any "build your own" tacos are a good bet. Breakfast Tacos served all day. (CLOSED ON SUNDAY). The disaster (like the Bob Armstrong at Matt's) is queso, beef and pico is delicious and definitely not on the diet special!! Also have Daily Specials. Very good salsas -- tomatillo, salsa roja, jalapeno ranch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great tacos and Tex Mex served by friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We're great fans of the Taco Joint, both locations (Peak and the newer one at Mockingbird and Abrams). Come here for Saturday breakfast tacos or a great lunch or dinner of reliable Tex Mex standbys such as fish tacos or enchiladas. Friendly owners, welcoming staff, and if you go often, they will probably remember your name! Check hours of each before driving over - they vary by day and location. Thanks, Corey, for all the great meals over the past few years. I love your crispy beef tacos with the jalapeno ranch salsa. We look forward to coming in again soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texas Family Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Joint also viewed

 

Been to Taco Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing