We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn. Plano Medical District”
Review of Sunstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunstone Inn
Ranked #166 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel needs to gutted and revamped. The property has not made one upgrade to the room's decor. The bedding is from the 80's. it's a shame that a business would offer this to a guess and expect them to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

I bought a room off a 3rd party website for the good price, but after arriving and staying for one night, I recommend going elsewhere. The manager/owner/front desk gentleman was very rude. The hotel overall was clean, but the rooms were VERY outdated. The bathroom was not up to par, and the decor is from the 70's. The location was hard to locate. You turn past a small used car lot and continue to drive towards the back. The pool was big enough to do 3 freestyle strokes to reach the other end. I could have paid the same amount to get quality and better breakfast. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRobinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Difficult to find, as it sits behind a car dealer. Suspect clientele, woman in front of us walked in from main road and paid cash for one night. Gentleman in hallway to our room asked if he could bum a smoke. Friendly gentleman on the elevator, but I'm pretty sure he wasn't sober. Smoking rooms in center of corridor, non-smoking at ends, so you have to walk past the smoking rooms to get to non-smoking. Our room had two queen beds. One bed had sheets that were stained with what appeared to be blood and grease that had been laundered in. The box spring on the other bed had stains on the side of it that appeared to be bodily fluids of some sort. The towels might just as well have been paper towels. Water pressure in shower was nonexistent, couldn't rinse the shampoo out of our hair thoroughly. Packets (like a ketchup packet at McD's) of shampoo. We were supposed to be there for a 3 night stay, checked out after the 1st night and found better accommodations elsewhere.
The clerk at check-in made a photo copy of my drivers license and my credit card. I've been checking with my cc company to make sure no fraudulent use since.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Veena & her husband (Max?) were friendly, helpful and keep the property very clean. Also, the maid did whatever we needed. We sold a home and were
there for a month waiting to get in our new house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Anne-marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank wonderchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
123Sonny, Manager at Sunstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First the hotel is very hard to find and get too, Second they don't believe in air-conditioning in the lobby and halls so it was very hot. After all it's Dallas in the middle of the summer. Third, the pool is right outside the front door. Fourth, the breakfast was an absolute joke. There was your choice of bland cheerios or corn flakes, day old bread or rock hard donuts, and burnt coffee. Fifth, at precisely 10 am the day of checkout the front desk called to see if we were checking out or not... checkout isn't until 11. So we were dumbfounded when they did this. I won't stay here again and the hotel was sub-standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
2.5 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Dallas - North Addison - Tollway
13.4 mi away
Knights Inn Market Center
Knights Inn Market Center
#151 of 206 in Dallas
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Dallas - Frankford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Northwest
7.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dallas Park Central
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites I-35 / Walnut Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstone Inn

Address: 19373 Preston Rd, Hwy 190 and Preston Rd, Dallas, TX 75252-2438 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites North Dallas Near Medical Center of Plano)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunstone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing