We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prison-like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #115 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prison-like”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The renovated rooms are ok but everything else about this place feels like a prison. There's a cafeteria with limited hours serving mostly greasy short-order type food. Bar closes at 9:00 and guests are "discouraged" from bringing their own alcohol into the rooms. Really?! 99 percent of the business here seems to come from guaranteed contracts such as corporate and gvt trainings, etc, so no real incentive here to care about the customer experience. If you're stuck here like me (not by choice) then I feel sorry for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. Seem to be in the 300 and maybe the 200 level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eh3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
As a Conference Center, this property is designed with client programming for conferences or training in mind. There have been many changes to our guest experience since this review and we look forward to showcasing many of our new enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lexington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

unless you have to stay here, dont. Its like the 80's threw up all over the place. The rooms are sketchy and outdated, the drapes match the sheets and its like being in a bunker.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Although the design of the building is a bit "misunderstood", it showcases some of the greatest attributes of this property. Originally built as the World Headquarters for Braniff Airlines, the property has undergone a transformation in recent years.

Every guest room offers a lagoon view and maximizes the 72 -acres of landscaped grounds that the complex sits on. Newly renovated hotel guest rooms, a 25,000 sq ft Fitness Facility, and a well-seasoned staff make this an ideal location for Conferences and Training programs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Stamping Ground, Kentucky, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Airline was going to send me to downtown Dallas and I found this hotel right off airport property. The goal was to find something close and fly out early to get back home. I was a little worried as I had never heard of it prior to this event. I found the rooms to be very large in size and the large quatities of pillows made it comfortable. The staff was pleasant to deal with and seemed to be amazed with the number of us that followed suit to their hotel due to flight delays. The superpages decor made it feel as if you were walking through the yellow pages. LOL I would recommend this hotel to anyone, even if just for plain curiousity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Thank you for your feedback and detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dallas
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus DFW Airport Suites
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn DFW North / Irving
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites DFW Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency DFW
Hyatt Regency DFW
#28 of 203 in Dallas
2,292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DFW - Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2200 W Airfield Dr, Dallas, TX 75261-4008 (Formerly SuperMedia Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center is located on 72 acres of landscaped grounds and specializes in corporate meetings and retreats. Conveniently located in close proximity to the Dallas/Ft Worth International Airport, the conference center provides direct access to Grapevine's cultural and historic Main Street District. Complimentary transportation to the airport and local area attractions make Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center a premier location for your next meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dex Media Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing